Kryptronic Software Support Forum

You are viewing this forum as a guest. Login to an existing account, or create a new account, to reply to topics and to create new topics.

#1 03-14-2006 22:38:01

hubbiida
Member
Registered: 07-13-2004
Posts: 101

Javascript Problem

Hi,
I have numerous JavaScript mouseovers on my site. I have discovered that when a user clicks on the product pop-up xtra-large image link (also a JavaScript item) that afterwards all of my JavaScript mouseover images reload when chosen. The same is true for use of the printable invoice (another JavaScript pop-up window)

Anyone know why this happens. It appears to be limited to IE6 (and perhaps earlier IE iterations...)

Thanks

Offline

 

#2 03-14-2006 23:33:06

Ed_H
Member
From: Smashachusetts
Registered: 09-12-2003
Posts: 397
Website

Re: Javascript Problem

is a little background info on the "IE Flicker" bug.  A search for that term will turn up more.  It depends on the user's temporary internet files settings;  Although I've seen references to it affecting the "Every visit to a page" option only, I'm fairly certain I also saw it when it was set to "Automatically".

This is the fix I ended up applying (on Apache);  Add the following to the .htaccess file:

Code:

ExpiresActive On
ExpiresByType image/gif A2592000
ExpiresByType image/jpeg A2592000
ExpiresByType image/png A2592000

Worked for me.

Offline

 

#3 03-15-2006 01:18:10

hubbiida
Member
Registered: 07-13-2004
Posts: 101

Re: Javascript Problem

Thanks Ed_H,
I have my site loaded to two different hosts (one is a backup). This worked great on one, but causes a 500 Server Error on the other. It seems that even just opening the .htaccess file and saving it (in notepad) causes the same error. Any idea what might be causing this?
Andrew

Offline

 

#4 03-15-2006 08:15:28

rachaelseven
Member
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 01-23-2006
Posts: 3169
Website

Re: Javascript Problem

Almost sounds like with one host you don't have your FTP set up in the right format (ASCII vs. Binary).

Rachael


Rachael Katz
- Custom Focusing Screens for DSLR Cameras

Offline

 

#5 03-15-2006 12:01:32

hubbiida
Member
Registered: 07-13-2004
Posts: 101

Re: Javascript Problem

I wondered about that. But, if I simply copy the .htaccess file from one site to another, without modifying it, there is not problem.

But...my FTP utility bases binary vs. ASCII on file extension...and this thing seems to be all extension. What should be used to upload the .htaccess file?

Offline

 

#6 03-15-2006 12:20:04

Dave
Member
Registered: 07-05-2003
Posts: 11233

Re: Javascript Problem

.htaccess files are plain text so it really shouldn't matter if they are FTPed as text or binary.  I would suspect NotePad as being the culprit.

Offline

 

#7 03-15-2006 12:21:56

rachaelseven
Member
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 01-23-2006
Posts: 3169
Website

Re: Javascript Problem

I just checked my FTP softward and I seem to be sending .htaccess in binary.  I've editted it before without a problem, so I think that's right.  Someone please correct me if I'm wrong.  I can't remember why just now, but for some reason I always edit .htaccess in wordpad, even though I do most everything else in notepad.  There must have been a reason, and maybe it was because notepad messed it up, but I honestly don't remember.

Rachael


Rachael Katz
- Custom Focusing Screens for DSLR Cameras

Offline

 

#8 03-15-2006 12:48:54

Ed_H
Member
From: Smashachusetts
Registered: 09-12-2003
Posts: 397
Website

Re: Javascript Problem

Never heard of notepad corrupting .htaccess files, but I've always used .  Weirder still that apparently this problem only occurs with one of your hosts(?)

If it  for the fact that just opening & saving the file causes errors I would have guessed that  might not be loading at the host where the 500s are occurring.

Offline

 

#9 03-15-2006 19:17:20

hubbiida
Member
Registered: 07-13-2004
Posts: 101

Re: Javascript Problem

Well, I think I found the problem. I consulted my server's error logs and...

"141.155.163.162] /home/amebuy2c/public_html/.htaccess: Invalid command 'ExpiresActive', perhaps mis-spelled or defined by a module not included in the server configuration"

Hmmm. What module do you suppose is missing? I'm sure I can get my host to add it...

Offline

 

#10 03-15-2006 19:29:20

Dave
Member
Registered: 07-05-2003
Posts: 11233

Re: Javascript Problem

Probably mod_expires.so smile  It's part of the base distro but may not be enabled.

Offline

 

#11 03-15-2006 19:32:32

Ed_H
Member
From: Smashachusetts
Registered: 09-12-2003
Posts: 397
Website

Re: Javascript Problem

Okay - that's it:  Ask your host about the  module.  If you're not on a version of Apache prior to 1.2 then possibly the "ExpiresDefault directive "  needs to be defined.    over my head here, by the way!  wink  And, just my opinion, if it can't be rectified easily it's not a critical issue.

Offline

 

#12 03-16-2006 23:41:41

hubbiida
Member
Registered: 07-13-2004
Posts: 101

Re: Javascript Problem

Thanks to all. I'm sure I'll get this sorted out soon...

Offline

 

Board footer