Kryptronic Software Support Forum

You are viewing this forum as a guest. Login to an existing account, or create a new account, to reply to topics and to create new topics.

#1 03-31-2004 19:19:40

wclathe
Member
Registered: 03-30-2004
Posts: 12

Element Names

I am attempting to modify how a list of categories is displayed on the splash page (and other places).

I keep seeing a reference to "ste_cat_disp" but for the life of me can not find that element.

The search feature of the admin does not seem to be working for me, nor do i see it on the server.

What file is it that needs to be change to:

change the image heading of 'categories' on the splash page

change how the categories are listed on the splash page (do not want them in the table they appear to be in now)

Offline

 

#2 03-31-2004 19:42:43

scoutch
Member
Registered: 07-03-2003
Posts: 3167

Re: Element Names

Q.1 : ste_cat.pl file.

Q.2 : ste_prod.pl file.

Q.3 : Admin section, global settings, image settings (or if you want it "only" for the cat, go to : ste_cat.pl file).

Q.4 : That would be in your admin section as well, HTML pages & elements, manage site elements, site layout.

Does these answer your questions ?


______________________________________________

THIS USER HAS BEEN BANNED FROM THIS FORUM.

If this post contains any language related to
code samples, advice, etc., please read this
entire thread before making a decision to use
this post as a basis for any change to your
software installation.
______________________________________________

Offline

 

#3 03-31-2004 21:30:14

wclathe
Member
Registered: 03-30-2004
Posts: 12

Re: Element Names

sort of, but it wasn't the answer I was hoping for.

The splash page (home, not welcome) lists the categories like this:

CATEGORYIMAGE

CAT1.....CAT2......CAT3.......
DESC1...DESC2....DESC3.....

CAT4....
DESC4...


BUT.. I want it to display like this:

DIFFERENTCATEGORYIMAGE

CAT1....DESC1
CAT2....DESC2
CAT3....DESC3
CAT4....DESC4


and what I am gathering from what you are telling me, is that...

QUESTION1:

I know some perl, but trying to fix this so the table looks like I want it too... I'm sure to $%^ it up.

that's the only question for now smile

Offline

 

#4 03-31-2004 21:37:51

scoutch
Member
Registered: 07-03-2003
Posts: 3167

Re: Element Names

For the table ? Well, actually, you can always modify it under your admin section in : HTML pages & Elements, manage system pages (user). You should see something like : Category header page.


______________________________________________

THIS USER HAS BEEN BANNED FROM THIS FORUM.

If this post contains any language related to
code samples, advice, etc., please read this
entire thread before making a decision to use
this post as a basis for any change to your
software installation.
______________________________________________

Offline

 

#5 04-01-2004 09:43:45

joeohlandt
Member
From: Morristown, New Jersey
Registered: 08-10-2003
Posts: 224
Website

Re: Element Names

I may be reading this wrong, but why not just change the way the categories are displayed under Manage Store Settings by selecting Categories To Display Per Row as one?




Joe Ohlandt
The Temple Publishers

Offline

 

#6 04-01-2004 09:48:41

scoutch
Member
Registered: 07-03-2003
Posts: 3167

Re: Element Names

Because there's also table readings in ste_cat.pl file. In the admin section, that wouldn't be enough (unless it is typical modifications).


______________________________________________

THIS USER HAS BEEN BANNED FROM THIS FORUM.

If this post contains any language related to
code samples, advice, etc., please read this
entire thread before making a decision to use
this post as a basis for any change to your
software installation.
______________________________________________

Offline

 

#7 04-01-2004 10:11:19

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19807
Website

Re: Element Names

But, setting that to one would accomplish the task here.  Whether or not we have table tags, the user should be able to display one per row and change the category display element to house the type of HTML they want.


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

#8 04-01-2004 10:17:25

scoutch
Member
Registered: 07-03-2003
Posts: 3167

Re: Element Names

Really ? That's odd . . . may be my tables on my site was built on a more complexed basis since I had difficulties working in the admin section. I had to do both.


______________________________________________

THIS USER HAS BEEN BANNED FROM THIS FORUM.

If this post contains any language related to
code samples, advice, etc., please read this
entire thread before making a decision to use
this post as a basis for any change to your
software installation.
______________________________________________

Offline

 

#9 04-01-2004 14:22:34

wclathe
Member
Registered: 03-30-2004
Posts: 12

Re: Element Names

well, that was pretty much the solution, I must have overlooked the '# per row'...doh.

its not exactly how i would want it to show (want descriptions in teh next column over, not under), but it is close enough.

thanks to you both for the help.

Offline

 

Board footer