Kryptronic Software Support Forum

You are viewing this forum as a guest. Login to an existing account, or create a new account, to reply to topics and to create new topics.

#1 02-02-2004 21:22:36

dride33
Member
Registered: 01-05-2004
Posts: 32

Image Size Override

I would like to override the images size properties that are set for the shopping cart.  I only want this override to occur for one category of products.  I need the detailed image to be quite a bit wider in this category.  Is this possible?  Thanks!

Offline

 

#2 02-02-2004 22:46:29

Greg
Member
Registered: 12-07-2002
Posts: 315

Re: Image Size Override

You need to add an 'if then' statement to the cgi-bin/library/modules/ste_cat.pl/
go to sub routine Ste Cat Show Image and put it in there.


Greg
GRC Web Building & Graphics

Offline

 

#3 02-03-2004 19:54:45

dride33
Member
Registered: 01-05-2004
Posts: 32

Re: Image Size Override

Thanks.  Is this something I need to download, modify, and then re-upload?  My only FTP client right now is Dreamweaver MX.  Would my if/then code look something like this:

if ste_cat = "Liners"
then image width = 400 px

Thanks!

Offline

 

#4 02-04-2004 11:07:59

Greg
Member
Registered: 12-07-2002
Posts: 315

Re: Image Size Override

I'll write it tonight and post. You've got the right idea. No time right now.


Greg
GRC Web Building & Graphics

Offline

 

#5 02-04-2004 18:09:15

Greg
Member
Registered: 12-07-2002
Posts: 315

Re: Image Size Override

As I read this again it sounds like you want to change the image size of all the products in particular category and not the category image. Is this correct?
If it is, it will be written slightly different and in a different script.
Let me know which it is.


Greg
GRC Web Building & Graphics

Offline

 

#6 02-06-2004 23:20:11

dride33
Member
Registered: 01-05-2004
Posts: 32

Re: Image Size Override

Actually I have one image that has all the options available for every product in that category.  All I want to do is show that image on EVERY product in this particular category.  Maybe this is possible with a one-time setting,  but I was planning on inserting this image for each product that I add.  The reason that I need the override is that the image is 400 px wide, but the image settings have the width set to 200 pixels.  Thanks!

Offline

 

#7 02-13-2004 10:03:05

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19798
Website

Re: Image Size Override

Look at the image routines in ./cgi-bin/library/modules/ste_prod.pl.  Just delete the WIDTH tags in the image tags in those routines.  The image will scale properly based on it's actual size if you do this.


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

#8 03-17-2004 07:07:13

arogers
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 02-09-2004
Posts: 69
Website

Re: Image Size Override

Nick,
YES, removing those width tags works.
I had a group of products that needed different widths, and
now I have much more flexibility.

I'm wondering though, could there be nasty consequences
ever arising that I haven't thought of?  Actually if you could explain why the widths thing
(which I know is a setting in admin) was created/needed in ccp51 anyway? would probably answer this concern.

Thanks

Offline

 

#9 03-19-2004 10:47:03

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19798
Website

Re: Image Size Override

It's there to prevent you from displaying an image of (let's say) 500 pixels in width that appears in a display with three product images on a line.  Doing something like that could blow up a layout and produce horizontal scroll bars.


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

Board footer