Kryptronic Software Support Forum

You are viewing this forum as a guest. Login to an existing account, or create a new account, to reply to topics and to create new topics.

#1 05-28-2003 15:16:22

Guest
Guest

is there an easy way

Is there an easy way to put the option, quantity and add to cart button all on the same line???

Right now you have to scroll waaaaay down to complete you choices.. it doesn't make sense. 

PLEASE! Is there an easy way to fix this. I tried altering the ste_prod.pl program, but it didn't work for products without options.   
Can this be an upgrade to the next version. I find this to be a major flaw. (annoyance). It doesn't look professional like the other carts.

Any help would be appreciated.
Thank you,

 

#2 05-29-2003 01:19:07

Jack
Member
Registered: 05-25-2003
Posts: 105

Re: is there an easy way

<font size="1" color="#FF0000">LAST EDITED ON 05-29-03 AT 03:53 AM (EST)</font><p>>Is there an easy way to put the option, quantity and add to >cart button all on the same line???
>Right now you have to scroll waaaaay down to complete you >choices.. it doesn't make sense.


I second this request!

I love the look of the store and the functionality of the admin forms/tables as well as this excellent users community, but my impression so far looking at the store thru a buyer's eyes is:
WAY too many screens and submit buttons to have to wade through for even a simple purchase!

From a purely marketing standpoint, once someone has taken the step to go to my store, I want it to be as EASY AS POSSIBLE to get ALL THE WAY THRU THE PURCHASE...

...With the least...
guesswork,
scrolling,
hitting a back button,
trying to figure out what I gotta click next just to get all the way through the woods to purchase my one or a few little widget(s),
clicking submit buttons X times where X is greater than >>TWO<<
etc.

The hard cold fact is that WE LOSE A CERTAIN NUMBER OF SALES (I.E. REVENUE) for EVERY ADDITIONAL MOUSE CLICK A PERSON IS >>REQUIRED<< TO DO TO COMPLETE THE PURCHASE.

Here's a bare-bones structure that I would like to have, with the OPTION of adding all of the bells and whistles offered by ccp5:

GOAL: giving the purchaser the OPTION to be able use as few as TWO CLICKS TO THE PURCHASE:

All products (or for large stores, all products of a certain category or whatever) listed on a single page and which can be ADDED USING RADIO BUTTONS, and all purchaser info added (including the credit card info) AT THE BOTTOM OF THAT FIRST PAGE.

I realize the challenge is a little greater with MANY items...

BUT...

The products can still be radio button selectable on a single page (or single page per category, with option to split into more pages IF number of products per category is large, where "large" is a user-defined/changeable number) with each item (optionally)including a thumbnail picture (for many people, thumbnails are sufficient and esp for dialup connections may significantly increase the initial page's load speed, which is critical) and a short description with the OPTION to click (in the manner the ccp5 store does now) to get a more detailed description IF (but only IF) they want more details.

(Unless I missed something (a definite possibility!)), the admin area default ccp5 store config apparently REQUIRES them to go to the detail to add to the cart and then BACK somewhere else (not entirely clear, esp to people for whom English is not their native language, or older folks who aren't way-webform-savvy), to get another product added... not so hot IMHO.

So ideally a customer, still on page one, can go right down the list clicking radio buttons to add items to the cart, they get to the bottom and fill in all info: name, billing, shipping address..

When they've selected a country from the dropdown list and when they fill in- and as they leave leave the postal code field, page updates with the shipping options (e.g. mapped to three categories (or less for int'l orders if USPS or UPS limits option): Standard (e.g. Priority Mail or UPS ground), Expedited (Second-day air or whatever), and Express (overnite or the nearest equivalent in the case of int'l) and associated prices, radio button selectable.

Then they enter the credit card info (still on page one!).

If instead of c/c they are using paypal or whatever they can radio button that choice on page one and put in their email address or (if merchant offers other options, whatever i.d. that payment processor requires).

Then REQUIRED button number ONE at the bottom says:

"Click here to review/edit/confirm selections"

Badabing: REQUIRED click number ONE (they still have the option to go clicking around for details, specials, best sellers etc, but only if they want to).

Processing between page one and two takes another look at all items to make sure they didn't add more items after filling in the country and postal code, if they DID, then the shipping gets recalc'd and updated on page two.

Generate REQUIRED page TWO:

One still has the OPTION of viewing more than two pages for more details, etc. prior to actual credit send to gateway, but it's not REQUIRED.

On page two ALL items in DETAIL, not just a total.
All items EDITABLE, they can be deleted or qty changed.
Include a prompt to return to previous page (which remembers all of the buyer data and credit card info they filled in on page one!) to add more items IF they choose (e.g. they missed an item), and click that button number one a second time, ONLY if need to add MORE items.

ELSE: Assuming they don't want to add more items, but even if they delete or change qty on this second page, "Click here to update your cart contents" updates the item list AND recalcs shipping. THIS BUTTON IS JUST BELOW THIS AREA, NOT AT THE BOTTOM OF THE PAGE...

Ok... >>We're still only on page two.<<

Items are ok or have been edited/deleted, and shipping recalc'd.

Just below all editable purchaser/billing/shipping info, credit card info is redisplayed and is editable.

Prompts in red or other attn getting color above critical fields remind buyer to get it right this time :-)

They fix it or accept it as is,

>REQUIRED< BUTTON NUMBER >>>TWO<<< (Unless edits needed):
The data goes to the credit card processor or to paypal or whomever.

Page three is the receipt.

All of the bells and whistles e.g. more product details and categories, best sellers, etc. can run down the right hand column of that first page (or wherever) with link-driven popup windows for details, etc. and items can be added to cart from any of these windows... these windows close automatically when the buyer hits either the Add to cart button or close-window-but-dont-add button.

When the window closes, they're still at page one.

After their OPTIONAL explorations of the product details, categories, specials etc. and additions if any, then they hit that (REQUIRED button number ONE) at the bottom to get to page two (unless they WANTED to explore the other options, then return to page one and required button one),

then on to required page two to confirm/edit all info.
Good to go?

Click REQUIRED button number two:

Kachingggggggg!

That's what I really want my customers to have the OPTION to do.
I want them to have the OPTION to be able to COMPLETE the purchase with as few as viewing only two pages and clicking two buttons to make the purchase and view page number three: The Thank You/Receipt page.

THAT is the configuration of ccp5 I really want to be able to choose through the admin tables.

How long will it take? How much will it cost to upgrade the ccp5 engine to give me that "TWO CLICK" option?

:-)

Very best regards,

JJ
wwwmultiples.com

Offline

 

#3 05-29-2003 09:14:33

BooBoo
Member
From: Anaheim, CA
Registered: 07-25-2003
Posts: 147
Website

Re: is there an easy way

Please look at http://www.laptopsforless.com.  Enter a search term, for example, 3 prong.

If this is the effect that you want, please let me know.

We currently only three pages now for the checkout process and we getting ready to move it to 2 pages.

Page 1 - https, billing & shippping info
Page 2 - https, shipping method
Page 3 - https, credit card info

We are moving page 2 and combining it with page 1.


--
Keith Roberts
IT Manager
Laptops For Less, Inc
keith@getadeal.com
<a href="http://www.laptopsforless.com">Your source for laptop batteries, pda batteries, digital camera batteries, cell phone batteries, and accessories</a>

Offline

 

#4 05-29-2003 11:51:27

Jack
Member
Registered: 05-25-2003
Posts: 105

Re: is there an easy way

Thanks very much boo boo! Most encouraging.

I'll take a look!

Best regards,
Jack

Offline

 

#5 05-30-2003 23:15:45

Guest
Guest

Re: is there an easy way

YES!  This is what I would like.. from my first post.. is there an easy way to do this? 
I would appreciate it! Please let me know what you did to accomplish this.

 

#6 05-31-2003 14:57:31

kevbo
Member
Registered: 01-13-2002
Posts: 52

Re: is there an easy way

<font size="1" color="#FF0000">LAST EDITED ON 05-31-03 AT 03:58 PM (EST)</font><p>I'm interested in 2 things from your site:

1) the streamlined checkout as you have done and mentiond here

2) the use of (from what I saw) a cp-linkpoint.cgi ?
where did you get this cgi?  Did you program their API for use with ccp? Is there a CCP module I'm not aware of?  I use linkpoint (basic) and would love to be using their API so that the user does not have to leave the site. 

Thanks

Offline

 

#7 05-31-2003 15:10:58

kevbo
Member
Registered: 01-13-2002
Posts: 52

Re: is there an easy way

BooBoo

email me when you get this
i need to tell you something about your site.
kinda important.

kevbo at eudoramail.com

Offline

 

#8 06-04-2003 11:46:21

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19756
Website

Re: is there an easy way

I believe I'm working with you through tech support to get the cp-linkpoint API working for your site. 

___________________________

Nick Hendler
Webmaster, Kryptronic, Inc.


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

#9 06-06-2003 21:01:43

Guest
Guest

Re: is there an easy way

I, who started this post, would like to know if there is a way to have quantity and option on the line.

Please respond - how exactly would I do this.

Thank you

 

#10 06-07-2003 16:13:23

jaavi
Member
Registered: 02-27-2003
Posts: 121

Re: is there an easy way

is this what you want?


http://www.4xact.com/eshop/cgi-bin/cp-a … cat=brides


greetings Joey.

Offline

 

#11 06-07-2003 17:07:24

Guest
Guest

Re: is there an easy way

I get the impression that they'd like to know exactly how to do it, not just an example

 

#12 06-09-2003 17:34:27

Guest
Guest

Re: is there an easy way

Yes, that is what I want.. the question is what exactly did you modify to get that? I know you need to modify the ste_prod.pl, but exactly how did you modify it, and what did you do about the "Product Detail Quantity Field" element?

Thank YOU!!!

 

#13 06-09-2003 17:40:10

BooBoo
Member
From: Anaheim, CA
Registered: 07-25-2003
Posts: 147
Website

Re: is there an easy way

Sorry, I was out due to a family emergency.

Here is my code for ste_proddet_quan:

<CENTER>

<TABLE WIDTH="(CGIVAR)html_content_table_size(/CGIVAR)" BORDER="0" CELLPADDING="3" CELLSPACING="3">

<TR BGCOLOR="FFFFFF">

<TD VALIGN="TOP"><INPUT TYPE="TEXT" NAME="quantity" SIZE="5" VALUE="1"><FONT FACE="(CGIVAR)html_small_font_face(/CGIVAR)" SIZE="(CGIVAR)html_small_font_size(/CGIVAR)" COLOR="(CGIVAR)html_small_font_color(/CGIVAR)"><B> Quantity <FONT COLOR="(CGIVAR)html_notnull_font_color(/CGIVAR)"><B>(CGIVAR)html_notnull_character(/CGIVAR)     <INPUT TYPE="IMAGE" SRC="http://web1.applelaptopbattery.com/ccp5/media/images/button/submit_addtocart.gif" WIDTH="100" HEIGHT="23" BORDER="0" VALUE="submit">     (US & Canadian Orders Only!)</B></FONT></B></FONT></TD>
</TR>

</TABLE>

</CENTER>
<FONT FACE="(CGIVAR)html_small_font_face(/CGIVAR)" SIZE="(CGIVAR)html_small_font_size(/CGIVAR)" COLOR="(CGIVAR)html_small_font_color(/CGIVAR)">
<SCRIPT language="javascript" type="text/javascript">
<!--
if (wilbur.eu_url.value != "")
{
    document.writeln("<a href=javascript:launchwindow31('http://web1.applelaptopbattery.com/eu_customers.htm')><img border="0" src="http://web1.applelaptopbattery.com/euflag.gif" width="36" height="23">European Customers can click here!</a>");
}
// -->
</SCRIPT>
</font>


--
Keith Roberts
IT Manager
Laptops For Less, Inc
keith@getadeal.com
<a href="http://www.laptopsforless.com">Your source for laptop batteries, pda batteries, digital camera batteries, cell phone batteries, and accessories</a>

Offline

 

#14 06-10-2003 02:13:39

jaavi
Member
Registered: 02-27-2003
Posts: 121

Re: is there an easy way

I asked if that was what you wanted for the reason that if not I don't waste time, yours and mine by posting something completly different and being no use to you.
I was very busy at the weekend and looks like BOOBOO beat me to it, anyway if the above posting didn't help you just let me know.

Joey.

Offline

 

#15 06-10-2003 13:17:34

Ed
Member
Registered: 05-28-2003
Posts: 52

Re: is there an easy way

Joey - I'd like to display my options horizontally (nice job, by the way!).  I don't have any problem manipulating ste_proddet_quan and have quantity and add to cart where I want them, but I'm very interested in precisely what changes need to be made to ste_prod_show_options in ste_prod.pl in order not to display options in rows.  I'm not an HTML rookie, but I can blow my pages up real good when I mess around with perl!


Thanks.

Offline

 

#16 06-10-2003 14:36:32

jaavi
Member
Registered: 02-27-2003
Posts: 121

Re: is there an easy way

In  cgi-bin/library/modules/ste_prod.pl,I edited the way the subroutine "ste_prod_show_addtocart_detail" and "ste_prod_show_options" print the html and I deleted the print headings html. Then I did some simple alteration in the product detail display e.g.frames, tables etc...

Greetings, Joey.



Offline

 

#17 06-11-2003 19:26:21

Guest
Guest

Re: is there an easy way

javi -

I'd like to know what you did. I tried booboo's fix, but it didn't work right for me.
Can you please respond with what you did.

Thanks so much,

 

#18 06-12-2003 11:20:14

jaavi
Member
Registered: 02-27-2003
Posts: 121

Re: is there an easy way

I've allready explaine above what I have done, but if you need the actual script here its, I hope it doesn't upset Nick.

just replace the "ste_prod_show_addtocart_detail" with the one you see below.

#######################################################################
# Ste Prod Show AddToCart Detail                                      #
#######################################################################

sub ste_prod_show_addtocart_detail {

&initialize_sub_add('ste_prod_show_addtocart_detail');

#########
######### This routine prints the add to cart button for products
######### where inventory levels allow you to add the item to the
######### cart.  This is for product detail displays.
#########

if ((($product_useinv eq "N") || ($product_useinv eq "Y" && $product_inv > "0")) && ($product_pricestatus ne "D")) {

if (($product_pricestatus ne "N") || ($product_pricestatus eq "N" && $optionproddisp_count > "0")) {

&display_print('ste_proddet_quan');

print <<ENDOFTEXT;

<table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" style="border-collapse: collapse" bordercolor="#111111">
    <td width="100%">
    <p align="right">
<INPUT TYPE="IMAGE" SRC="$images_path/button/submit_addtocart.gif" WIDTH="$site_button_image_width" HEIGHT="$site_button_image_height" BORDER="0" VALUE="submit"></CENTER>
</TD>
</table>
ENDOFTEXT

} ######### End of if statement.

} ######### End of if statement.

&initialize_sub_remove('ste_prod_show_addtocart_detail');

} ######### End of subroutine.







AND THEN IN "ste_prod_show_options" REPLACE THE following:



#########
######### Print the table header.
#########

print <<ENDOFTEXT;
<CENTER>
<TABLE WIDTH="$html_content_table_size" BORDER="0" CELLPADDING="10" CELLSPACING="3">
ENDOFTEXT



WITH THIS:

#########
######### Print the table header.
#########



print <<ENDOFTEXT;
<CENTER>
<TABLE  BORDER="0" CELLPADDING="0" CELLSPACING="10">
ENDOFTEXT

plus you have to rearrange your product detail display.
If you have problem with it, let me know.

Greetings, Joey.




Offline

 

#19 06-12-2003 12:02:31

Jack
Member
Registered: 05-25-2003
Posts: 105

Re: is there an easy way

Thanks very much everybody.

This thread is VERY helpful to me too!
Cheers!
Jack

Offline

 

#20 06-17-2003 00:12:33

Jack
Member
Registered: 05-25-2003
Posts: 105

Re: is there an easy way

Joey, BooBoo, and other Most Helpful Ones...

I want to eliminate all of the catalog pages from Welcome splash on in.

I want (I guess) an externally-created html FIRST page, that:

Lists one item per line (my whole catalog on one page) ideally with a checkbox in front of each item that accumulates all selections for the cart and then posts them all at once with a single click of the submit button (along with all of the billing, shipping, and credit card info which will appear at the bottom of page 1).

OR if checkboxes are too tall an order, then add to cart buttons to the right of each line item, which buttons will add to the cart but then RE-DISPLAY this same page so the person can automatically continue shopping WITHOUT having to CHOOSE to continue shopping by looking for, finding, and clicking a "continue shopping" link.

My studies show that upsell item purchases are WAY higher when the person doesn't have to hit one or more links to continue shopping.

Since I've implemented ccp5, my upsells have gone to zero. They buy my flagship item and checkout. They used to be 30% of my business.

<I know: Why'd I switch? Cuz I need access to the scripts for other reasons (autoresponders, etc.) and my previous cart offered NO access to the script.>

In other words, I don't really need any of the dynamically generated front end pages (no offense Nick, but they just get in my customer's way and cost me $$).

I just want the person to arrive at page one, collect all of their items, enter their billing, shipping, and credit card info on page 1 (heck, they're already in SSL on my system, so why not?).

Then they just click ONCE to submit all of the items (field error checks are performed) and all other info is written to the various vars.

When they click that button, the shipping api calcs the shipping and redisplays everything including totals on page two (that is the "cart/checkout page" in essence).

If they need to edit, they can edit any billing/shipping/payment field, as well as qty of items (they almost ALWAYS buy only one of each item, since these are books). If they need to add an item then they can hit the back button (rare with my market).

Assuming they've got the items they want, and have either accepted or edited any necessary bill/ship/pay data, they click a second button at the bottom of this page two and the data gets sent to the credit card gateway or to paypal.

Two clicks to $$$

Upon confirmation, the receipt page is displayed, or by-mail info page or decline page.

I know how to build the table for the first page, but I don't know what routines or variables to call to update the cart and calc the shipping OnSubmit.

Any suggestions?

The Quest for The Two-Click Grail continues... one line of code at a time.
:-)

Thanks for all of your suggestions so far!
Jack

Offline

 

#21 06-17-2003 03:45:19

Guest
Guest

Re: is there an easy way

sorry guys. could not resist it.....the guy who wanted two click shopping experience (jack) is advertising MULTIPLE ORGASMs on his website.
thought it is funny. sorry for the noise....

 

#22 06-17-2003 05:29:14

Jack
Member
Registered: 05-25-2003
Posts: 105

Re: is there an easy way

<font size="1" color="#FF0000">LAST EDITED ON 06-17-03 AT 06:33 AM (EST)</font><p>funny?

That anonymous characterization merits some response.

My M.A. is in Psychology, and I'm a member (Sex Educator) of the American Assn of Sex Educators, Counselors, and Therapists, wwwaasect.org

The effects my eight + years of online teaching are having on people including couples and those living with disabilities are extensively documented on the website, including free streamable audio recordings of telephone interviews I conducted with men and women who've applied what I teach.

Shall we return to the business of ccp5?

Best regards,
Jack
wwwmultiples.com

Offline

 

#23 07-16-2003 13:42:59

Guest
Guest

Re: is there an easy way

I've tried to change th order of the rows ion category.csv and catxcat.csv - it doesn't work. Even if the categories (or their dependencies) are rearranged within a table - it doesn't appeare on a web.

 

#24 07-16-2003 14:06:04

jaavi
Member
Registered: 02-27-2003
Posts: 121

Re: is there an easy way

How did you do it, it should be easy I usually do in excel by cut and paste and then just save it an viola it appears sorted in the control panel.
Anyway if you can wait I think in tiki it's much easier through the control panel by using the mysql.

Regards, Joey.

Offline

 

#25 12-12-2003 12:51:13

scoutch
Banned
Registered: 07-03-2003
Posts: 3167

Re: is there an easy way

Correction for the " <p align="center">.

It does not go on the 3rd line but the  of that paragraph. Otherwise, your "add to cart" button will be aligned on the left (or right depending of your table size from your admin section) side of the page.

Thanks. smile


______________________________________________

THIS USER HAS BEEN BANNED FROM THIS FORUM.

If this post contains any language related to
code samples, advice, etc., please read this
entire thread before making a decision to use
this post as a basis for any change to your
software installation.
______________________________________________

Offline

 

Board footer