Kryptronic Software Support Forum

You are viewing this forum as a guest. Login to an existing account, or create a new account, to reply to topics and to create new topics.

#26 02-27-2017 09:43:31

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19509
Website

Re: Special characters

You said you changed the encoding on the database.  Did that process re-encode the data that was already in there?  Does newly inputted data display properly?


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

#27 02-27-2017 09:50:47

unet
Member
Registered: 10-24-2013
Posts: 104

Re: Special characters

webmaster wrote:

You said you changed the encoding on the database.  Did that process re-encode the data that was already in there?  Does newly inputted data display properly?

Hello Nick
I believe that the process re-encoded the data that was already there.  No newly inputted data does not display properly.

Offline

 

#28 02-28-2017 08:11:13

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19509
Website

Re: Special characters

OK, look at the encoding on the Joomla database.  Does it match the CCP database?  If not, change the CCP database.

Next, look at the encoding for the webpages as they're served by Joomla and served by CCP.  Do the encoding headers match?  You can test this using the developer tools in your browser and looking at response headers.

You're looking for differences between the two in order to identify the issue.


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

#29 02-28-2017 08:49:17

unet
Member
Registered: 10-24-2013
Posts: 104

Re: Special characters

webmaster wrote:

OK, look at the encoding on the Joomla database.  Does it match the CCP database?  If not, change the CCP database.

Next, look at the encoding for the webpages as they're served by Joomla and served by CCP.  Do the encoding headers match?  You can test this using the developer tools in your browser and looking at response headers.

You're looking for differences between the two in order to identify the issue.

Hello
My joomla database has 3 different, it has encodings, utf8_general_ci and utf8mb4_unicode_ci, and at the end of the tables is latin1_swedish_ci.  The ccp data base is set to utf8_general_ci.

Offline

 

#30 03-01-2017 07:45:26

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19509
Website

Re: Special characters

Make them match and see what happens.


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

#31 05-24-2017 03:29:16

unet
Member
Registered: 10-24-2013
Posts: 104

Re: Special characters

webmaster wrote:

Make them match and see what happens.

I have a lot of joomla instalations, I have about 5 joomla instalations, do I need to change all the databases? What is the fastest way to change the database encoding?

Offline

 

#32 05-24-2017 08:03:44

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19509
Website

Re: Special characters

I'm not sure if you need to change anything.  You need to do some testing with your software and database encoding and see what works best for you.


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

#33 05-24-2017 09:09:34

unet
Member
Registered: 10-24-2013
Posts: 104

Re: Special characters

Hello
There is a problem... I had temporarily put the product description in english so I could later change to portuguese. Now I can't change the description, I fill the description in portuguese and goes back to english. I have tried to create a new product instead and everytime I submit the text on the long description disappears and does not let me submit a product.

Offline

 

#34 05-25-2017 07:22:01

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19509
Website

Re: Special characters

That sounds more like an issue with PHP max post size being set on the server side.  Ie: You're having trouble submitting large amounts of data in CGI requests.


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

#35 05-01-2018 07:11:40

unet
Member
Registered: 10-24-2013
Posts: 104

Re: Special characters

Hello
The problem with special characters is solve, it seams when you copy and paste from Word it creates that problem. So I copied the content to notepad and saved it in .txt, I closed the document and open again with notepad and copied and pasted and problem solve.

Offline

 

#36 05-01-2018 07:32:22

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19509
Website

Re: Special characters

Word uses a horrible Windows-based encoding and special character replacements for things like quotes and double-quotes.  It's not very portable at all.


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

Board footer