Kryptronic Software Support Forum

You are viewing this forum as a guest. Login to an existing account, or create a new account, to reply to topics and to create new topics.

#1 07-22-2017 06:57:22

robprotronica
Member
Registered: 12-16-2008
Posts: 106

Modify Product Listing: Display per Page

We wanted to display more than the default maximum of 60 products per page in standard category view.

In Raw Database Admin we have found ecom.proddisppg in the core_settings table.

Entering the value we need in ecom.proddisppg works just fine.

However, in management interface under Dashboard / Store / Component / Settings / Categories: Standard View, the "Product Listing: Display per Page" setting is now showing "Select".

This is a required field so if in the future anyone modifies any other setting they will be required to set "Product Listing: Display per Page" to one of the standard values and we lose the manual database edit.

I am assuming there is a form field in the database somewhere that we could add some bigger numbers to to make the number we want selectable.

Have tried looking in core_forms, core_formfields and core_colummndefs but so far can't find anything that looks promising.

Any ideas where to look?

Thanks.

Offline

 

#2 07-23-2017 11:27:01

zanart
Member
From: bedford
Registered: 04-02-2008
Posts: 1681

Re: Modify Product Listing: Display per Page

try the core_selectcustom tables.
Just clone one of the other values for the display per page values


- Euorpacart 8

Offline

 

#3 07-23-2017 11:54:19

robprotronica
Member
Registered: 12-16-2008
Posts: 106

Re: Modify Product Listing: Display per Page

Perfect!

Thanks

Offline

 

#4 07-24-2017 07:55:02

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19735
Website

Re: Modify Product Listing: Display per Page

Be careful displaying too many items.  Page load times are directly related to conversion rates.  At some point with too many items on a page, you run into diminishing returns.  If you have an obscene amount of items being printed, you could end up taxing your server resources.


Nick Hendler

Online

 

#5 07-24-2017 08:48:19

robprotronica
Member
Registered: 12-16-2008
Posts: 106

Re: Modify Product Listing: Display per Page

Good point.

However in this particular case every item being displayed in the sub-category is a single line description (less than 30 characters) plus price - the html for the whole page comes out a 143kB

But some further analysis shows that the server response time seems slower on this page compared to others that have only a few products - so putting it all together is possible taking a little time.

Will take another look at how to go forward.

Offline

 

#6 07-24-2017 14:23:40

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19735
Website

Re: Modify Product Listing: Display per Page

It's just something to be careful of.  If you're looking out for issues, and contemplating good choices, then you're doing your job.  Too many people blindly bloat up pages without fully considering all the reputations.  It should be a balance between meeting customer expectations while not harming conversions.


Nick Hendler

Online

 

Board footer