Kryptronic Software Support Forum

You are viewing this forum as a guest. Login to an existing account, or create a new account, to reply to topics and to create new topics.

#1 06-19-2017 04:59:13

nigel
Member
From: Peterborough, UK
Registered: 04-27-2008
Posts: 418
Website

Server News

is it possible to manage the Dashboard Server News like we could in V8   System Dashboard > System > Software > Server News  or is it just a case of editing newsdisplay.php.

Offline

 

#2 06-19-2017 05:11:54

zanart
Member
From: bedford
Registered: 04-02-2008
Posts: 1706

Re: Server News

If you go into the Core/includes - systemdashboard.php you should see $this->include_namespace('core','servnewsint',array()); towards the bottom.

either comment it out or move it somewhere else in the display.


Rob

Offline

 

#3 06-19-2017 07:50:40

nigel
Member
From: Peterborough, UK
Registered: 04-27-2008
Posts: 418
Website

Re: Server News

Hi Zanart,
thanks for the reply. I actually want to keep the display because I like to have all my notes showing there, I have edited the newsdisplay.php so it displays my new include (codechanges.php) but I would like to have the ability to delete individual server news items and see new ones as they arrive (like I could in version 8). These are the edits I made to newsdisplay.php which shows my new include where the server news was but does not show any server news. I think the function to manage server news must have been removed for V9

Code:

<?php 

$app        = $this->globals('core.app');
$ns         = $this->globals('core.namespace');
$news       = $this->globals('core.news_list');
$eol        = $this->globals('core.eol');

print '<div class="kpadded kbotmarginfull">' . $eol;
print '<h2>Code Changes to E-Commerce V9 and useful info</h2>' . $eol;
$this->include_file('ecom','codechanges.php');


// print '<h2>Recent Server News</h2>' . $eol;


// if (!(empty($news))) {

//     print '<div class="kgridsep kgrid1 ktopmarginfull">' . $eol;

//     foreach ($news as $article => $data) {

//          $x_id         = $this->xhtml_encode($data['id']);
//          $x_newstitle  = $this->xhtml_encode($data['newstitle']);
//        $x_newsurl    = $this->xhtml_encode($data['newsurl']);
//          $x_newsteaser = $this->xhtml_encode($data['newsteaser']);
//          $x_time       = $this->xhtml_encode($data['time']);

//          print '<div class="kgridbox">' . $eol;
//          print '<div class="kbotmarginhalf kbig"><a class="kbasecolor" href="' . $x_newsurl . '" title="' . $x_newstitle . '" rel="external">';
//          print $x_newstitle . '</a></div>' . $eol;
//          print '<div class="kmid kbotmarginhalf">' . $x_time . ': ' . $x_newsteaser . '</div>' . $eol;
//          print '</div>' . $eol;

//     } // End of foreach statement.

//     print '</div>' . $eol;

// } else {

//     print '<p>No news available.</p>' . $eol;

// } // End of if statement.

print '</div>' . $eol;

?>

Offline

 

#4 06-19-2017 08:18:08

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19798
Website

Re: Server News

In V8 and lower the software pulled news from the Kryptronic central server, stored it locally and allowed you to delete articles after you read them.  In K9 that was changed to a live feed, with no storage.


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

#5 06-19-2017 08:31:42

nigel
Member
From: Peterborough, UK
Registered: 04-27-2008
Posts: 418
Website

Re: Server News

thanks for that, I more or less know what I'm doing now.

Would also like to mention that I'm really impressed with Version 9!!

Offline

 

#6 06-19-2017 13:06:54

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19798
Website

Re: Server News

Thanks, your comments are very much appreciated.  It was a lot of hard work to make it happen.


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

Board footer