Kryptronic Software Support Forum

You are viewing this forum as a guest. Login to an existing account, or create a new account, to reply to topics and to create new topics.

#1 11-07-2013 11:46:54

zanart
Member
From: bedford
Registered: 04-02-2008
Posts: 1706

Dynamic Pagination Urls

More SEO recommendations - Sorry!

I have lots of duplicate content listed in google due to the seo and non seo urls.

I need to add the following to my robots.txt to prevent the duplicate content.

Code:

Disallow: /*app=ecom*
Disallow: /*app=cms*

The problem then is 2nd and subseqent pages of product display won't be found by google as only the first page uses the seo url.

Is it possible for the 2nd and subsequent pages to use an seo rule:

/index.php?app=ecom&ns=catshow&ref=CATEGORY_NAME&count=30&offset=30

would be
Category/CATEGORY_NAME-p2

Thanks
Rob


Rob

Offline

 

#2 11-07-2013 12:10:16

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19798
Website

Re: Dynamic Pagination Urls

Those results truly are dynamic at that point.  I would recommend packing as many items on the main category page as possible to reduce pagination in categories.  Maybe more categories are in order.  The count and offset will vary per user based on settings, so there's no dynamic way to handle this.  You could write a noindex rule for secondary pages, but that goes against what you're looking to do.


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

#3 11-08-2013 08:32:05

zanart
Member
From: bedford
Registered: 04-02-2008
Posts: 1706

Re: Dynamic Pagination Urls

Hi Nick

What do you think of this hack I have come up with??

I have edited the Product Listing Nav Display include so that the link is no longer a link, it is a form submission.

This means the URL doesn't change, just the products that are displayed.

Obviously this could be extended to the sort option links.

Any ideas what effect this will have on google crawling the pages??
Would it still crawl the product links on Page 2,3,etc? There wouldn't be any duplicate content as the url would be the same.

You can see it working here:
http://myframer.co.uk/Category/picture-frames

NOTE - use the navigation links at the bottom - I haven't changed the top navigation yet.

Code:

<?php

$eol       = $this->globals('core.eol');
$navarray  = $this->globals('ecom.prod_navarray');

$dispns    = $this->globals('core.namespace');
$reference = $this->globals('core.ref');

// +--
// | Display navigation links if there are any.
// +--

if (!(empty($navarray))) {

     print '<div class="defaultlink">' . $eol . $eol;

     //print '<p>';

     $plinks = '';

     foreach ($navarray['pages'] as $link) {

          // +--
          // | You can use $link['link'] instead of $link['pg'] below to 
          // | show the actual result numbers rather than page numbers.
          // +--

          //$href = $this->link_namespace('ecom',$dispns,array('ref'    => $reference,
                                                             //'count'  => $link['count'],
                                                             //'offset' => $link['offset']));
                                                                            
                 $offset = $link['offset'];                                                              
               $count = $link['count'];                                                             
               $form = "<form name='".$link['pg']."' action='' style ='display:inline;' method='post'>";
            $form .="<input name='offset' id='offset' type='hidden' value='".$offset."'>";
            $form .="<input name='count' id='count' type='hidden' value='".$count."'>";
            $form .="<input type='submit' style='border:0px;font-size:10px; background-color:none; margin:0px;padding:0px;'  value='" . $link['pg'] . "'>";                                                        
            $form .="</form>";                                                                  

          if ($link['type'] == 'LAST') {
               if (preg_match('/ \| $/',$plinks)) {$plinks = rtrim($plinks,' | ');}
               $plinks .= ' &gt;&gt; ';
          }

          if ($link['current']) {

               $plinks .= '<strong>' . $link['pg'] . '</strong>';

          } else {
                 
                  $plinks .= $form;

               //$plinks .= '<a href="' . $href . '" title="Page ' . $link['pg'] . ' of ' . $navarray['numpages'] . '">';
               //$plinks .= $link['pg'] . '</a>';

          } // End of if statement.

          if ($link['type'] == 'FIRST') {$plinks .= ' &lt;&lt; ';}
          else {$plinks .= ' | ';}

     }

     if (preg_match('/ \| $/',$plinks)) {$plinks = rtrim($plinks,' | ');}

     print $plinks;

     print '&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;[' . $navarray['total'] . ' Items / ' . $navarray['numpages'] . ' Pages]' . $eol;

     //print '</p>' . $eol;
     print '</div>' . $eol;

} // End of if navarray statement.

?>

Rob

Offline

 

#4 11-08-2013 10:33:46

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19798
Website

Re: Dynamic Pagination Urls

Your solution is to be commended for thinking outside of the box, however I don't think Google is going to crawl the pages beyond the first one.


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

#5 11-08-2013 11:04:29

zanart
Member
From: bedford
Registered: 04-02-2008
Posts: 1706

Re: Dynamic Pagination Urls

I have asked the 'experts' to see what they think and will report back.


Rob

Offline

 

#6 11-09-2013 05:27:56

zanart
Member
From: bedford
Registered: 04-02-2008
Posts: 1706

Re: Dynamic Pagination Urls

My Seo guys think google will still crawl the second page, but they're not sure.

However my uneducated assumption would be that provided the links for the products on the second and subsequent category pages are listed in the sitemap, they will still be crawled??

I have also extended the mod so that all the Sort options URL's stay the same:
http://www.ezeframe.co.uk/Category/cust … ure-frames

Everything seems to work!


Rob

Offline

 

#7 11-11-2013 10:10:05

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19798
Website

Re: Dynamic Pagination Urls

Code:

However my uneducated assumption would be that provided the links for the products on the second and subsequent category pages are listed in the sitemap, they will still be crawled??

Only the initial pages are listed in the sitemap.  It's an interesting solution that seems to work well.  Let us know how it goes.


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

#8 11-22-2013 08:32:09

zanart
Member
From: bedford
Registered: 04-02-2008
Posts: 1706

Re: Dynamic Pagination Urls

Nick,

Just an update.

Duplicate Meta Descriptions is down from 899 to 150 in less than 2 weeks, and still falling.
Duplicate Title tags is down from 580 to 120 as well.

Hopefully all duplication will be gone in a few weeks time

Rob


Rob

Offline

 

#9 11-22-2013 10:59:51

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19798
Website

Re: Dynamic Pagination Urls

Excellent.  Thanks for the update.


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

Board footer