Kryptronic Software Support Forum

You are viewing this forum as a guest. Login to an existing account, or create a new account, to reply to topics and to create new topics.

#1 08-12-2011 10:38:32

JDLS88
Member
From: Maryland, USA
Registered: 07-06-2011
Posts: 102
Website

Breadcrumbs acting funny

I've read up on how breadcrumbs on the site work. It only displays your steps taken, so if you go directly to a product it'll show "Store home > product" rather than "Store home > category > subcat > product".

Well the problem I'm having is that it's showing "Store Home > Product" no matter how I get to a page. For example, this is the actual path I take to the product:

Store Home > Historical > 1950s > product name

But all I see is

Store Home > product name


I haven't touched the breadcrumb code, so I'm not really sure what could be causing this. Could someone possibly post their unmodified breadcrumb code for me to compare?


Jeremy D.

Offline

 

#2 08-19-2011 10:37:20

JDLS88
Member
From: Maryland, USA
Registered: 07-06-2011
Posts: 102
Website

Re: Breadcrumbs acting funny

I guess alternatively I need an updated version of this: https://forum.kryptronic.com/viewtopic.php?id=20248


Jeremy D.

Offline

 

#3 08-19-2011 19:31:04

JGB
Member
From: Holyoke, Massachusetts
Registered: 01-16-2004
Posts: 298

Re: Breadcrumbs acting funny

Code:

<?php 

$eol       = $this->globals('core.eol');
$bc        = $this->globals('ecom.breadcrumbs');
$disablebc = $this->globals('core_settings.ecom.disablebreadcrumbs');
$links     = '';

if ((!(empty($bc))) && (empty($disablebc))) {

     print '<div class="storelink">' . $eol;

     print '<p><strong>Location</strong>: ' . $eol;

     foreach ($bc as $num => $data) {

          $name = $data['name'];

          if ($name == 'STOREHOME') {$name = 'Store Home';}

          $link = $data['link'];
          $name = $this->xhtml_encode($name);

          if ($num != 0) {$links .= ' &gt; ';}

          $links .= '<a href="' . $link . '" title="' . $name . '">' . $name . '</a>' . $eol;

     } // End of foreach statement.

     print $links . '</p>' . $eol . $eol;

     print '</div>' . $eol . $eol;

} // End of if statement.

?>

Offline

 

#4 08-20-2011 10:10:13

JDLS88
Member
From: Maryland, USA
Registered: 07-06-2011
Posts: 102
Website

Re: Breadcrumbs acting funny

Hmm it's identical to what I already have (aside from a line break I must've added in). So I wonder what else could be causing that little quirk.


Jeremy D.

Offline

 

#5 08-20-2011 10:32:15

magwa
Member
Registered: 09-22-2007
Posts: 321

Re: Breadcrumbs acting funny

When something like this happens to me my first port of call is to think of anything I might have changed since the last time the broken thing last worked correctly. I then try to work backwards to see if I can undo the breakage by undoing my changes one by one.

This is a bit of a wild guess, but have you enabled SEO recently?

Offline

 

#6 08-24-2011 14:20:20

JDLS88
Member
From: Maryland, USA
Registered: 07-06-2011
Posts: 102
Website

Re: Breadcrumbs acting funny

vbsaltydog setup his SEO mod sometime last week. Even with the mod disabled though, the breadcrumbs are messed up. I even checked the default SEO settings (they were all enabled) and disabled them to see if that did anything...but nope.


Jeremy D.

Offline

 

#7 09-10-2011 03:10:56

magwa
Member
Registered: 09-22-2007
Posts: 321

Re: Breadcrumbs acting funny

Did you find a solution to this?

Offline

 

#8 09-10-2011 17:40:56

vbsaltydog
Member
From: Florida
Registered: 05-02-2005
Posts: 947
Website

Re: Breadcrumbs acting funny

JDLS88 wrote:

vbsaltydog setup his SEO mod sometime last week. Even with the mod disabled though, the breadcrumbs are messed up. I even checked the default SEO settings (they were all enabled) and disabled them to see if that did anything...but nope.

Just to be clear for anyone reading this thread. This is NOT caused by the Extreme SEO XMOD.


Latest CCP 7 XMods Available:


Offline

 

#9 09-12-2011 09:48:56

JDLS88
Member
From: Maryland, USA
Registered: 07-06-2011
Posts: 102
Website

Re: Breadcrumbs acting funny

Right, I didn't mean for it to sound like it did. I was just stating the circumstances surrounding my noticing of the bug.

Edit- Oh and I never did get those pesky breadcrumbs to work right.

Last edited by JDLS88 (09-12-2011 09:55:29)


Jeremy D.

Offline

 

#10 09-12-2011 09:54:50

vbsaltydog
Member
From: Florida
Registered: 05-02-2005
Posts: 947
Website

Re: Breadcrumbs acting funny

No problem. I was just clarifying for anyone who may have though that they were related events.


Latest CCP 7 XMods Available:


Offline

 

Board footer