Kryptronic Software Support Forum

You are viewing this forum as a guest. Login to an existing account, or create a new account, to reply to topics and to create new topics.

#1 09-15-2008 10:29:51

machiner
Member
Registered: 04-13-2008
Posts: 21

Sitemap header issue

Having a problem with the sitemap mod  The headers the script produce are inconsistent with Google and I must manually change them every day.   When adding a sitemap to a google webmaster account one must choose the particular formatting.  I always choose "General Web Sitemap".

Daily I must change the following:

Code:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<urlset xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance" xsi:schemaLocation="http://www.sitemaps.org/schemas/sitemap/0.9" url="http://www.sitemaps.org/schemas/sitemap/0.9/sitemap.xsd" xmlns="http://www.sitemaps.org/schemas/sitemap/0.9">

Code:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<urlset xmlns="http://www.sitemaps.org/schemas/sitemap/0.9">

If I don't change the header an error remains in the sitemap.xml file.  Is there a bit of code to tweak?  THere must be something.  I should like very much not to have to manually change the header every day.  I cannot be the only one dealing with this.  Any help or insight is appreciated.

Offline

 

#2 09-15-2008 10:40:39

Dave
Member
Registered: 07-05-2003
Posts: 11233

Re: Sitemap header issue

What leads you to believe it is inconsistent with Google?  The sitemap XMOD produces a sitemap.org compliant map which all of the engines including Google are more than happy with.  What you are removing has nothing to do with Google parsing the map file.  The schema is used by browsers and editors that understand how to compare the XML file contents to a schema and make sure the XML is valid.

Offline

 

#3 09-15-2008 10:51:27

machiner
Member
Registered: 04-13-2008
Posts: 21

Re: Sitemap header issue

Google telling me my sitemap has issues is what leads me to belive that it's inconsistent.  lol.  Regardless of whether Google can still parse the sitemap, it is telling me that it has issues with the header and that I need to fix it and resubmit my sitemap.  How is this acceptable?  Frankly, it's not.  Whereas I'm not here to incite ire, I really do have many things on my plate, I would like this addressed.

Pretty please with a cherry on top?  Telling me that basically I'm whining and there is no problem, in my mind, is contrary to "support".   I'm not saying I"m upset for spending $50, I'm not saying the mod is **censored word**, I'm saying I am having a problem with it.

Hence my post.  Back to my question -- is there anything that I can do in order to prevent issues?  The site I built with ccp is in a very competitive market, having Google tell me there is a problem doesn't fly.  The mod remains "stock", I've not touched it at all.  There's gotta be an "echo" in there somewhere that I can mod to include the header that Google wants to see.

THanks.

Offline

 

#4 09-15-2008 11:48:38

Dave
Member
Registered: 07-05-2003
Posts: 11233

Re: Sitemap header issue

The single error I'm seeing in the Google Webmaster Tools should not be preventing Google from processing the sitemap.  With the XMOD you don't need to be submitting things manually since the extension provides a setting to have the map submitted automatically.

A little digging reveals that sitemap.org has apparently revised the recommended header for the sitemap.xml file and it no longer contains the schema location.  I'm working on a modification to the sitemap XMOD to have the sitemap file match what sitemap.org has but it may not be released immediately.  I have to convince Google to process the new one to make sure no warnings are produced.

Offline

 

#5 09-15-2008 11:57:52

machiner
Member
Registered: 04-13-2008
Posts: 21

Re: Sitemap header issue

I don't submitt manually, I simply change the headers dialy.  I like what you write in paragraph 2.   Looking forward to it.

Thanks for your responses.

Offline

 

#6 09-15-2008 12:15:56

Dave
Member
Registered: 07-05-2003
Posts: 11233

Re: Sitemap header issue

Why are you changing the headers though is the real question?  Even with the warning your map is getting processed correctly.

Offline

 

#7 09-15-2008 12:38:57

machiner
Member
Registered: 04-13-2008
Posts: 21

Re: Sitemap header issue

From post #3:

Regardless of whether Google can still parse the sitemap, it is telling me that it has issues with the header and that I need to fix it and resubmit my sitemap.

.  Whether or not there is any actual technical merit to Google's "advice", if I am taking advantage of their index, I heed what they tell me.

Additionally, and capitalistic and shallow or no, I paid for the mod, I expect issues to be resolved quickly and efficiently.  I read what you wrote in post #4 and it satisfies me to this point.  As a proprietary software developer you are hearing an end-user.  As an open-source advocate, this makes me all sorts of giddy inside.

Offline

 

#8 09-15-2008 15:11:38

Dave
Member
Registered: 07-05-2003
Posts: 11233

Re: Sitemap header issue

In the {private}/apps/ccp0/XMOD_SiteMap directory edit XMOD_SiteMap.php (after making a backup copy). Find the block of code below which start on line 413:

Code:

$mapdata  = '<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>'                          . $eol;
$mapdata .= '<urlset xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance" ';
$mapdata .= 'xsi:schemaLocation="http://www.sitemaps.org/schemas/sitemap/0.9" ';
$mapdata .= 'url="http://www.sitemaps.org/schemas/sitemap/0.9/sitemap.xsd" ';
$mapdata .= 'xmlns="http://www.sitemaps.org/schemas/sitemap/0.9">'            . $eol;

Replace that block of code with:

Code:

$mapdata  = '<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>'                       . $eol;
$mapdata .= '<urlset xmlns="http://www.sitemaps.org/schemas/sitemap/0.9">' . $eol;

Offline

 

#9 09-15-2008 18:32:28

machiner
Member
Registered: 04-13-2008
Posts: 21

Re: Sitemap header issue

I knew it was something simple.  Grazie.

Offline

 

#10 09-16-2008 09:09:00

Dave
Member
Registered: 07-05-2003
Posts: 11233

Re: Sitemap header issue

If anyone else is concerned with the warning from Google and wants to update their copy of the SiteMap XMOD simply run the installer and allow things to default through the first 11 steps.  At step 12 titled "Step 12 of 13: Application & Module Installation" select the "Yes, reinstall/update applications and modules." option then click on Continue.  Click Continue on step 13 without changing any options.

Once you have done that you will have the latest level of SiteMap with the change discussed above.

Offline

 

#11 09-16-2008 11:03:17

wyattea
Member
Registered: 01-07-2006
Posts: 1650

Re: Sitemap header issue

Dave, just as 'refresher' to my understand of the installer, doing this will ONLY change the sitemap code right? I'm up to date with the updates as of Sept 12, so nothing else will be overwritten except the one change you made to the sitemap xmod?

James...

Offline

 

#12 09-16-2008 11:05:49

Dave
Member
Registered: 07-05-2003
Posts: 11233

Re: Sitemap header issue

In your case James it depends.  If you've been running the installer and letting it make updates and been performing the manual updates along the way then the answer is yes, it will only replace xmod_sitemap.php.

Offline

 

#13 09-16-2008 11:13:05

wyattea
Member
Registered: 01-07-2006
Posts: 1650

Re: Sitemap header issue

yeah, every update I've ran as exactly described, and just put back in my mods. I never skipped any update steps. I'd prefer though to update the file manually. Is there a new version number for the file? If I edit manually, the installer won't know and still update the file?

James...

Offline

 

#14 09-16-2008 11:23:03

Dave
Member
Registered: 07-05-2003
Posts: 11233

Re: Sitemap header issue

Then you should get nothing more than the new xmod_sitemap.php James.  The update code is at version 1.0.2 and you probably have 1.0.1 right now.  The change I posted in post 8 is what changes in the new file along with the date and version number.

Offline

 

#15 09-16-2008 13:39:23

sppars
Member
Registered: 01-25-2006
Posts: 301

Re: Sitemap header issue

Thank you Dave.  I had noticed the Google "warning" and was wondering how to fix it too.

Offline

 

Board footer