Kryptronic Software Support Forum

You are viewing this forum as a guest. Login to an existing account, or create a new account, to reply to topics and to create new topics.

#1 04-26-2004 19:28:22

nev100
Member
From: Allentown, PA
Registered: 09-06-2003
Posts: 49
Website

Php Coding

Nick,
  Is Zuma version going to be in PHP coding?? The reason for asking is I use the software on the serverside /localhost/  if you go to PHP version it would allow us to view images both web-broadcasting and localhost.  It's just a pain to change the  cp-app.pl file each time I need to view the website website /localhost/.
  I have been playing with a few scripts that use PHP and found it really nice to see what others see from both sides of the wall.

Nevin

Offline

 

#2 04-26-2004 19:36:10

EagleWolf
Member
From: Daytona Beach, FL
Registered: 07-27-2003
Posts: 979

Re: Php Coding

It will be in perl. There were some in depth discussion on twhich way to go and overall it was decided to stay with perl.


Chris
<a href='mailto:webmaster@equivity.com'>webmaster@equivity.com</a>
-

Offline

 

#3 04-26-2004 19:41:12

nev100
Member
From: Allentown, PA
Registered: 09-06-2003
Posts: 49
Website

Re: Php Coding

  :-(   sad   

Offline

 

#4 04-26-2004 20:51:28

m j
Member
From: Carthage, MO
Registered: 12-12-2003
Posts: 71
Website

Re: Php Coding

What is it specificly that you are needing PHP for? Is it some form of integration with an existing site or what? If I knew more about what it is you are wanting to do I might be able to help you work between PHP and Perl to make everything work easily for you, and allow you to view both web broadcasting images and localhost images.

I'm sure we can figure out something that will work well for you.

If you have something in PHP, that you are needing in Perl, its pretty easy to convert PHP to Perl and vice versa, sometimes the code is completely identical.


Perl, MySQL, XHTML, CSS, Web Usability, XML
Matt Johnson

Offline

 

#5 04-27-2004 10:09:16

redmanstudios
Member
Registered: 11-10-2003
Posts: 387

Re: Php Coding

you can just change your settings to us $ENV varialbes

example

this first section will not always work depending on how your *nix server is setup. but it should work for most servers

$server_script_path = "$ENV{DOCUMENT_ROOT}/ccp51/cgi-bin";
$server_data_path = "$ENV{DOCUMENT_ROOT}/ccp51/data";
$server_media_path = "$ENV{DOCUMENT_ROOT}/ccp51/media";

#########
######### The url_*_path variables are the paths to the different
######### compontents of this software package.  Enter below the paths
######### to the 'cgi-bin' and 'media' directories.
######### These are URL paths and should be entered with a 'http'.
#########

$url_script_path = "http://$ENV{HTTP_HOST}/ccp51/cgi-bin";
$url_media_path = "http://$ENV{HTTP_HOST}/ccp51/media";

hope this helps out
james


Offline

 

#6 04-27-2004 11:05:07

CityWebSystems.com
Member
From: Utah
Registered: 03-12-2004
Posts: 95
Website

Re: Php Coding

I was under the impression that all the processing would be in Perl but that there would at some point be an optional PHP front end. Is this still correct or did I misunderstand?

Offline

 

#7 04-27-2004 19:43:01

m j
Member
From: Carthage, MO
Registered: 12-12-2003
Posts: 71
Website

Re: Php Coding

It seems like I caught something that sounded like that too, but it wasn't real clear. I beleive the idea was being thrown around about having both a Perl and PHP front end. Regardless if there is a PHP front end, there will be a Perl front end, so I'm pretty sure the mention of the idea was in hopes of having options where the user could choose which front end they wanted.


Perl, MySQL, XHTML, CSS, Web Usability, XML
Matt Johnson

Offline

 

#8 04-27-2004 20:53:39

nev100
Member
From: Allentown, PA
Registered: 09-06-2003
Posts: 49
Website

Re: Php Coding

Hi James,
  Thank you for the help, but I change the cp-app.pl file I get this error:

Script Execution Error
The following server paths are not correct:

Server Script Path ($server_script_path variable)
Server Data Path ($server_data_path variable)
Server Media Path ($server_media_path variable)

The root web directory of this account appears to be:

d:\ccp51\

I did change the lines to exactly what you stated in your previous reply.

The pain I'm having is everytime I want to view the website from my end on the server I have to change the following lines in cp-app.pl

from:

$url_script_path = "http://66.92.235.175/cgi-bin";
$url_media_path = "http://66.92.235.175/media";

To:

$url_script_path = "http://localhost/cgi-bin";
$url_media_path = "http://localhost/media";



Offline

 

#9 04-28-2004 10:10:57

redmanstudios
Member
Registered: 11-10-2003
Posts: 387

Re: Php Coding

I do not build on windows machines but the problem could be that you need to change your slashes from "/" to "\" but again i should not be giving advice on this since i don't work with windows servers everyday.

oh i got one better then that if you are running the file on a local network . what you need to do is do a find for your "host" file. open it up with wordpad and edit a line in it like this

66.92.235.175  wwwyourdomainname.com

this way you keep all your ccp setting like

$url_script_path = "http://www.yourdomain.com/ccp51/cgi-bin";
$url_media_path = "http://www.yourdomain.com/ccp51/media";

i would reboot and clear your cache in explorer.
I know this works because this is how i develop on my local network.


I just even thought of one more. why don't you just copy your cp-admin and cp-app file and change the data on it to reflect the local network settings the only thing you will need to do is scroll down a little bit more and change this settging

$script_name = "cp-app.cgi";

to
$script_name = "cp-app1.cgi";

or something like that. this way you will have 2 files. the live one and the local network one.

i hope this helps.

james

Offline

 

#10 05-02-2004 10:37:08

scoutch
Banned
Registered: 07-03-2003
Posts: 3167

Re: Php Coding



$script_name = "cp-app.cgi";

to
$script_name = "cp-app1.cgi";

or something like that. this way you will have 2 files. the live one and the local network one.

* Warning *

If you intend to use SSL servers, you must edit your gateway.csv file as well

from : cp-app

to read :

yournewgivenname (with Notepad preferably by using : CTRL+H).

Otherwise, by simply editing the $script_name command will affect your transactions.


______________________________________________

THIS USER HAS BEEN BANNED FROM THIS FORUM.

If this post contains any language related to
code samples, advice, etc., please read this
entire thread before making a decision to use
this post as a basis for any change to your
software installation.
______________________________________________

Offline

 

#11 05-02-2004 12:01:49

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19798
Website

Re: Php Coding

Concerning the question of a PHP frontend - there will be a PHP module available for zuma that allows you to run portions of the store (product & category displays & other minor non-critical displays) via a PHP script.  This will be in addition to the standard Perl front-end.  If installed, the user will have the choice whether to link to the PHP frontend or the Perl frontend from their HTML pages.


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

Board footer