Kryptronic Software Support Forum

You are viewing this forum as a guest. Login to an existing account, or create a new account, to reply to topics and to create new topics.

#1 02-19-2004 23:18:23

mrkitsmith
Member
Registered: 02-19-2004
Posts: 1

Ups Webapi Problems

Enabling realtime shipping using the UPS WebAPI option is not yielding shipping calculations that are anywhere close to the actual rates available on the UPS web site.  Unfortunately, I cannot find any info on the WebAPI method on the UPS web site or the ClickCartPro web site... Nor is there any info in the documentation!

Are there any specific settings or fixes to retrieve an accurate shipping quote via the WebAPI?

Thanks.

Offline

 

#2 02-26-2004 09:44:28

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19798
Website

Re: Ups Webapi Problems

Please provide more information on this.  The issue is most likely with your data setup - not with CCP or UPS.  Can you tell us how you set your products up and what ship from info you have?  Thanks.


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

#3 02-27-2004 04:56:22

roxie
Member
From: Central Oregon
Registered: 11-17-2003
Posts: 80
Website

Re: Ups Webapi Problems

I am having a similar problem with the USPS Webtools rates. Edits were made to add First Class and these were working beautifully unitl mid-Feb. I noticed higher rates being returned for First Class that are more double what is correct. Tonight First Class is not even being returned as an option for a 2-3 oz package.

For example on the 15th a 2-3oz package had a shipping rate of $2.80 First Class- which should return as $1.10 (I have 50 cents added to actual cost).

On the 17th the prices were right again.

On the 20th I received one order that had correct shipping charges, but another that had incorrect shipping charges. Again, more than double what is correct. $3.50 for a package that should have listed as $1.56.

I have had the online store closed since the 21st so I don't know what has been going on with the Webtools since then.

I have not made any changes to scripts, products, tables or anything else that could possibly produce these kind if strange happenings.

Anyone have a clue? I have opened the store back up - fortunately I can edit all credit card orders before processing, and most customers are happy with Store Credit for PayPal paid orders that have too high shipping costs.

Offline

 

#4 02-28-2004 13:00:19

hpawlowski
Member
From: Glendale, AZ USA
Registered: 09-18-2002
Posts: 126
Website

Re: Ups Webapi Problems

I am having the same problem with UPS Web API rates. A table of consistent weight shipments to various zip codes compared to deliberately different weight shipments between those same zipcodes, seems to indicate the costs are tied to the shipping and destination zipcodes and largely independent of the shipment weight. Definitely not how UPS does it.

The costs are also MUCH higher than actual UPS Gnd Residential approaching a factor of 3X.

Nick, contact me for details as there is definitely a problem with this shipment costing means.

Offline

 

#5 03-03-2004 11:00:44

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19798
Website

Re: Ups Webapi Problems

Under Shipping Settings | Manage Shipping Settings, make sure you have a low weight entered for the 'Realtime Method - Weight (LBS or KG) For No Entry' field.  We just noticed and issue where if the package weight is less than this weight, the script identifies this as no weight entered.


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

#6 05-30-2004 21:54:30

kaz
Member
Registered: 05-19-2004
Posts: 583

Re: Ups Webapi Problems

i have the same problem - the shipping rate returned from UPS Web API for 240 of one item is $66.80 no matter what the size or weight is

'Realtime Method - Weight (LBS or KG) For No Entry' = 0.05

any ideas?


Kevin Zaleski -  -

Offline

 

#7 06-06-2004 12:58:25

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19798
Website

Re: Ups Webapi Problems

Under Shipping Settings | Manage Shipping Settings, what are your values for:

Realtime Method - Present Overweight Errors
Realtime Method - Present Dimensional Errors


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

#8 06-06-2004 19:57:48

kaz
Member
Registered: 05-19-2004
Posts: 583

Re: Ups Webapi Problems

Under Shipping Settings | Manage Shipping Settings, what are your values for:

Realtime Method - Present Overweight Errors
Realtime Method - Present Dimensional Errors

Both are "No" (default)


Kevin Zaleski -  -

Offline

 

#9 06-15-2004 12:40:16

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19798
Website

Re: Ups Webapi Problems

What are the dimensions of one of those items?


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

#10 06-15-2004 18:10:13

kaz
Member
Registered: 05-19-2004
Posts: 583

Re: Ups Webapi Problems

3" x 3" x 5"


Kevin Zaleski -  -

Offline

 

#11 06-15-2004 19:23:56

Big Dave
Member
Registered: 10-24-2003
Posts: 742

Re: Ups Webapi Problems

also having a problem with UPS prices being returned as incorrect.

Offline

 

#12 06-21-2004 13:59:32

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19798
Website

Re: Ups Webapi Problems

A way to see what is going on is presented below.  In the file ./cgi-bin/library/modules/ste_ship.pl in the routine 'ste_ship_rate_upswebapi_proc' look for:

Code:


my $response = $ua->request($req);

And right below it, add:

Code:


print <<ENDOFTEXT;

<PRE>

Info Sent to UPS:

$field_agreeacc => $agreeacc,
$field_action => $action,
$field_service => $service_name,
$field_ziporigin => $orig_postalzip,
$field_zipdest => $dest_postalzip,
$field_pounds => $weight,
$field_country => $dest_countrycode,
$field_length => $length,
$field_width => $width,
$field_height => $height

</PRE>

ENDOFTEXT

Then, right below:

Code:


my @reply_array = split (/\%/, $reply);

Add:

Code:


print "<PRE>\n\n";
print "Info Sent From UPS\n\n";

foreach $line(@reply_array) {print "$line\n";}

print "\n</PRE>\n\n";

This will tell you what's being sent & sent back for all UPS Web API calls.  Perhpas this will help pinpoint the issue.


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

#13 06-21-2004 14:04:09

kaz
Member
Registered: 05-19-2004
Posts: 583

Re: Ups Webapi Problems

i couldn't wait this long, i gave up and switched to free shipping


Kevin Zaleski -  -

Offline

 

#14 09-23-2004 00:14:46

TheThinker
Member
From: Salt Lake City, Utah
Registered: 06-16-2004
Posts: 535
Website

Re: Ups Webapi Problems

What was the resolution to this issue??


Regards,
Eric

Offline

 

#15 09-23-2004 07:58:52

kaz
Member
Registered: 05-19-2004
Posts: 583

Re: Ups Webapi Problems

none, of course


Kevin Zaleski -  -

Offline

 

#16 07-01-2005 17:25:18

about2flip
Member
Registered: 02-09-2002
Posts: 125

Re: Ups Webapi Problems

This was not helpful at all. What was the problem. I am having the same issue with UPS WebTOOLS giving me prices that are higher than normal.

Offline

 

#17 07-01-2005 17:58:07

dtwg
Member
From: California
Registered: 11-15-2004
Posts: 1339
Website

Re: Ups Webapi Problems

It can actually be tremendously helpful to see what data is being sent to UPS, so if you haven't plugged in Nick's debug code, I would suggest that you do. It's really difficult to troubleshoot what you can't see. When you do plug in the debug code, post the results or leave it in and let me go through checkout on your site.

It's almost certainly a problem with the data being sent and CCP is probably sending the values you have set for "Realtime Method - Weight (LBS or KG) For No Entry" and L/W/H in Manage Shipping Settings. Personally, I would try setting up a test product with some larger weight/dimension values and see if it calculates correctly for that.

Also it might be worth considering that help here on the forum is offered for free on a volunteer basis when and if somebody feels like helping you. Your other option is .

Good luck,

Dave


Offline

 

#18 07-01-2005 22:26:46

about2flip
Member
Registered: 02-09-2002
Posts: 125

Re: Ups Webapi Problems

Can this be done with UPSTOOLS under:

Ste Ship Rate UPSTOOLS Proc

I need to fix this error ASAP delaying website launch.

Thanks again for your help.

Offline

 

#19 07-02-2005 11:45:37

dtwg
Member
From: California
Registered: 11-15-2004
Posts: 1339
Website

Re: Ups Webapi Problems

Can this be done with UPSTOOLS under:

Ste Ship Rate UPSTOOLS Proc

Yeah, maybe. I'd give it a try. It's quicker just to try it than ask, and my dev environment is toast anyway. You may find that the data being sent is not what you think.

Also, if you can post your custom shipping script, I would like to see exactly what you are using.

Dave

Offline

 

#20 07-20-2006 10:33:09

concrete
Member
Registered: 03-23-2006
Posts: 2

Re: Ups Webapi Problems

Has this problem ever been addressed? I noticed this message thread is about a year old but it didn't seem to be a solution. I am still having this problem in our CCP cart that we just installed in March. It has just been brought to my attention.

I tried messing with all of my Realtime No Entry settings and the UPS costs do not change. I did a test using information from the customer that brought this issue to my attention and the UPS direct cost is about $7 dollars. Our CCP cart UPS Ground pricing comes up at about $36.

I plugged in Nick's debug code but not being a Perl programmer, I didn't know where to look for the results.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks all.

Dave.

Offline

 

#21 07-20-2006 11:11:55

hpawlowski
Member
From: Glendale, AZ USA
Registered: 09-18-2002
Posts: 126
Website

Re: Ups Webapi Problems

Dave, check Nick's suggestion right after my post back when as it corrected my problems. I set these weight, etc. to 1 and the weights and sizes entered for the products were then used in the calculation, rather than the "no weight" defaults.

Offline

 

#22 07-21-2006 19:41:33

Blitzen
Member
From: USA
Registered: 01-01-2005
Posts: 936

Re: Ups Webapi Problems

Glad this came up again.

I'm wondering if it's how CCP calcs Dimensional Weight. If a person enters the wrong numbers, this can result in wrong rates. The LENGTH should be the longest measurement according to the CCP program. I haven't had time to check this out, though. A mod for this is below.

I got around this by modifying the program to use 75% of the rate returned if the rate is more than $10. Rates look better, but not real. I'd like to get the actual shipping rates though.

This can be applied to the other subs.
I noticed that the Dim Wt is now 165. So you can change that, too.
(http://www.ups.com/content/us/en/resour … _size.html)
Script: ste_ship.pl, sub ste_ship_rate_upstools_proc
Just after

Code:

#########
######### Do some calculations to ensure weight and dimensions
######### are accurate for the shipper.
#########

my $maxweight = "150.000";
my $minweight = "1.000";
### 7/21/6 UPS now uses 165 for dimfactor
#my $dimfactor = "129";
my $dimfactor = "165";

if ($length <= "0") {
     $length = "$ship_real_error_length";
} ######### End of if statement.

if ($width <= "0") {
     $width = "$ship_real_error_width";
} ######### End of if statement.

if ($height <= "0") {
     $height = "$ship_real_error_height";
} ######### End of if statement.

Insert the following

Code:

if ($length < $width) {
     my $savlength = $length;
     $length = $width;
     $width = $savlength;
}

if ($length < $height) {
     my $savlength = $length;
     $length = $height;
     $height = $savlength;
}

Now you don't have to think about which dim is supposed to be the longest. E.g, we sell plants that are 5-ft high x 2-ft square. Well, we would have to enter the 5x12 inches as LENGTH, not height.

-BLitzen

Offline

 

#23 07-22-2006 17:55:36

dh783
Member
From: Avondale, Arizona
Registered: 04-06-2005
Posts: 6233
Website

Re: Ups Webapi Problems

I have the opposite problem the rates that are returned with the ups scripts are lower than what I get charged by ups.

Generaly I get charged 30.00 to ship this package ups ground and here is what ccp returns:

Info Sent to UPS:
accept_UPS_license_agreement => yes,
10_action => 3,
13_product => GND,
15_origPostal => 85323,
19_destPostal => 85338,
23_weight => 21.000,
22_destCountry => US,
25_length => 44,
26_width => 17,
27_height => 6




Info Sent From UPS

UPSOnLine3
GND
85323
US
85338
US
002
30
10.15
0.00
10.15
End of Day




Info Sent to UPS:
accept_UPS_license_agreement => yes,
10_action => 3,
13_product => 2DA,
15_origPostal => 85323,
19_destPostal => 85338,
23_weight => 21.000,
22_destCountry => US,
25_length => 44,
26_width => 17,
27_height => 6




Info Sent From UPS

UPSOnLine3
2DA
85323
US
85338
US
202
24
25.40
0.00
25.40
End of Day




Info Sent to UPS:
accept_UPS_license_agreement => yes,
10_action => 3,
13_product => 1DA,
15_origPostal => 85323,
19_destPostal => 85338,
23_weight => 21.000,
22_destCountry => US,
25_length => 44,
26_width => 17,
27_height => 6




Info Sent From UPS

UPSOnLine3
1DA
85323
US
85338
US
102
24
43.62
0.00
43.62
12:00 P.M.




Info Sent to UPS:
accept_UPS_license_agreement => yes,
10_action => 3,
13_product => 3DS,
15_origPostal => 85323,
19_destPostal => 85338,
23_weight => 21.000,
22_destCountry => US,
25_length => 44,
26_width => 17,
27_height => 6




Info Sent From UPS

UPSOnLine3
3DS
85323
US
85338
US
302
24
19.02
0.00
19.02
End of Day

This is what I get from ups's website for a rate quote ( it did not give me a ground quote ):

1     21 lbs.      44 x 17 x 6 in. /
Your Packaging    
Dimensional Weight applies

Rates By Service
Service     Days In Transit     Guaranteed By     Total
UPS Sonic Air®
    Same Day*     Same Day*     See Note*     Get a Sonic Air Quote
UPS Next Day Air Early A.M.®
Billable Weight: 24.0 lbs.
    1     8:30 A.M.
Monday
July 24, 2006      91.18 *
   
UPS Next Day Air®
Billable Weight: 24.0 lbs.
    1     12:00 P.M.
Monday
July 24, 2006      58.12 *
   
UPS Next Day Air Saver®
Billable Weight: 24.0 lbs.
    1     By End of Day
Monday
July 24, 2006      52.78 *
   
UPS 2nd Day Air®
Billable Weight: 24.0 lbs.
    2     By End of Day
Tuesday
July 25, 2006      39.90 *
   

John

Offline

 

#24 07-23-2006 09:17:40

Blitzen
Member
From: USA
Registered: 01-01-2005
Posts: 936

Re: Ups Webapi Problems

At this point, I would contact UPS about this since you have the data to and from UPS. They will work with you to resolve the problem.

Please let us know how it is resolved. Thanks!

Offline

 

#25 10-15-2006 18:00:05

theblade24
Member
From: Tampa, Florida
Registered: 11-19-2003
Posts: 384
Website

Re: Ups Webapi Problems

I believe UPS is now using 194 for dim weight.


CCP 5.1
CCP 5.1
CCP 5.1

Offline

 

Board footer