Kryptronic Software Support Forum

You are viewing this forum as a guest. Login to an existing account, or create a new account, to reply to topics and to create new topics.

#1 10-24-2003 04:51:12

jdelaney
Member
From: York, North Yorkshire
Registered: 08-18-2003
Posts: 16

Secure Checkout Problems

I have quite a few images within my ste_layout but if the customer proceeds to the checkout, these images are displayed using the imagepath variable.

Is it possible to create a 'secureimagepath' variable that is used on these pages, or can Tiki be modified to change the imagepath on-the-fly to a secure version.

eg: non-secure store pages IMAGEPATH might be:

secure checkout pages IMAGEPATH becomes:

Nick, anyone, I need help on this urgently.

Offline

 

#2 10-24-2003 12:24:52

EagleWolf
Member
From: Daytona Beach, FL
Registered: 07-27-2003
Posts: 979

Re: Secure Checkout Problems

no what you need to do is use the CCP element instead of coding the paths.

ie.




should be:
(CGIVAR)images_path(/CGIVAR)/site/

that way CCP will change from http to https depending on what part of the site they are going to.


Chris
<a href='mailto:webmaster@equivity.com'>webmaster@equivity.com</a>
-

Offline

 

#3 10-25-2003 16:31:18

Todd
Member
From: Kitty Hawk, NC
Registered: 04-01-2003
Posts: 553
Website

Re: Secure Checkout Problems

If your host has SSL setup properly, it does not matter if you use

<img src="(CGIVAR)images_path(/CGIVAR)/layout/rightborder.gif"

or

<img src="../../shop/media/layout/rightborder.gif"

because an SSL path is simply another path to the exact same files... accept that it is setup to use SSL.

Think of it like this.

You have one website.  However, you have three domain names.

Each domain name can point to the same website.

So people can find you at 







One of these could be setup to use a certificate.  So  becomes



Still the same files occur only once.  They are just reached by different roads you might say.

In order to make this work correctly in CCP, double check your settings in the Admin Area.

Under Global Settings --  Manage Program Settings -- The top fields regarding your secure url and path need to be correct.

Your host also has to have SSL setup correctly.  Most large hosting companies do have this right.

To clarify one more thing.... use relative paths for your images.

In other words....   you dont want to use absolute image paths as in img src="http://www.domain.com/images/etc.jpg" because this does not ask for an image thru a secure path.  Therefore by using relative paths... it does not matter how the visitor reached you... they will always be displayed the information they request in the way you intend for them to receive it.

You want to use  <img src="../../shop/media/layout/rightborder.gif">   or whatever your site settings are.


there's more than one way to...



Offline

 

#4 10-27-2003 06:01:50

jdelaney
Member
From: York, North Yorkshire
Registered: 08-18-2003
Posts: 16

Re: Secure Checkout Problems

My problem is that the SSL side of things is not the same on our setup ie:

Normal unencrypted access is via:



whereas SSL access is through (stupidly if you ask me)



So I can't set my images_path to:

because although it works on the insecure side, it then fails on the secure side because the path changes.

I can't hardcode:  because it will never be accessed securely.

So I'm still stuck.

Offline

 

#5 10-27-2003 10:17:10

EagleWolf
Member
From: Daytona Beach, FL
Registered: 07-27-2003
Posts: 979

Re: Secure Checkout Problems

your not stuck, us the image path element:

(CGIVAR)images_path(/CGIVAR)/site/

and CCP when it goes to secure checkout will change the path that you have set up in manage program settings for media to the correct SSL path, then these should show up correctly without a pop up.


Chris
<a href='mailto:webmaster@equivity.com'>webmaster@equivity.com</a>
-

Offline

 

#6 10-27-2003 12:12:11

Todd
Member
From: Kitty Hawk, NC
Registered: 04-01-2003
Posts: 553
Website

Re: Secure Checkout Problems

hello again jdelaney,

Please take another look at my previous post.  I dont think you fully understood what I was saying.

There are two ways to reference any file on a website.

Absolute and Relative.

What is the difference?

Absolute is giving the full URL....

thus using a <img src="http://www.test.com/images/rightborder.gif"

Relative is referencing the files from within the site itself...

thus  <img src="images/rightborder.gif"

The relative way does not use even the domain name to reference the image becaues it is referenced locally.

So if you lived in San Diego and I lived in San Diego and I needed directions to your house, I would give you directions from within the city probably beginning at your house with a path to mine.

So the directions will change to your house depending on the beginning location.  You would not give out the same directions to someone else if they lived in another part of the city. 

An absolute path would provide an absolute path for anyone to take to your house.  So you could say, Beginning at SeaWorld take this path to my house.

Since most people in San Diego would know where SeaWorld is located, they could find your home by those directions because the have a beginning and ending point provided in the directions.

So you do not need to 'hardcode' a  into the images path... but rather use a relative path depending on your sites folders and such.

An example of this.

Lets say you have all your files in a folder called 'www'.  Within that folder an index.htm files exists with two more folders. So the contents looks like...

Index.htm
Images (Folder)
Cgi-Bin (Folder)

In your index.htm file, if you wanted to include an image from the images folder you could use an absolute path such as  or you could simply reference the file by  images/picture.jpg.

This is a bit wordy... but Im no writer either.  Sorry.
smile 


there's more than one way to...



Offline

 

#7 10-28-2003 04:51:26

jdelaney
Member
From: York, North Yorkshire
Registered: 08-18-2003
Posts: 16

Re: Secure Checkout Problems

I apologise. I have been reading everyone's posts and then gone down completely the wrong tangent smile

Re: read your responses and now it makes sense. I've sorted the problem.

I used the images_path and everything works fine.

Thanks again everyone.

Offline

 

#8 12-10-2003 22:29:27

theblade24
Member
From: Tampa, Florida
Registered: 11-19-2003
Posts: 384
Website

Re: Secure Checkout Problems

I currently am having the same problem......but I have isolated my problem to the javascript category menu I am using.

At 

I currently have the lines setup as such:

<script language="JavaScript" src="(CGIVAR)common_url_javascript(/CGIVAR)/tree.js"></script>
<script language="JavaScript" src="(CGIVAR)common_url_javascript(/CGIVAR)/tree_items.js"></script>
<script language="JavaScript" src="(CGIVAR)common_url_javascript(/CGIVAR)/tree_tpl.js"></script>
<script language="JavaScript">

The three files are in the javascript directory and the menu works fine. But I am not getting the padlock and am getting the "Display both secure and unsecure?" question.

Can someone look at this and tell me what I need to change? If I remove the menu the page works fine.

Marty


CCP 5.1
CCP 5.1
CCP 5.1

Offline

 

#9 12-10-2003 22:37:10

EagleWolf
Member
From: Daytona Beach, FL
Registered: 07-27-2003
Posts: 979

Re: Secure Checkout Problems

Go to your secure checkout page and then go to view source in the browser, you will find many links on that pages which are http instead of https that is the cuase of your security problem. All links on a secure page must be https, if even one comes us http it will not be secure.


Chris
<a href='mailto:webmaster@equivity.com'>webmaster@equivity.com</a>
-

Offline

 

#10 12-10-2003 23:07:55

scoutch
Banned
Registered: 07-03-2003
Posts: 3167

Re: Secure Checkout Problems

Hey ! ... you're right Eagle. I didn't even noticed I was on the secured page. It must be set to https.


______________________________________________

THIS USER HAS BEEN BANNED FROM THIS FORUM.

If this post contains any language related to
code samples, advice, etc., please read this
entire thread before making a decision to use
this post as a basis for any change to your
software installation.
______________________________________________

Offline

 

#11 12-11-2003 06:24:27

theblade24
Member
From: Tampa, Florida
Registered: 11-19-2003
Posts: 384
Website

Re: Secure Checkout Problems

EagleWolf,12/10/2003 10:37:10 PM wrote:

Go to your secure checkout page and then go to view source in the browser, you will find many links on that pages which are http instead of https that is the cuase of your security problem. All links on a secure page must be https, if even one comes us http it will not be secure.

So you're telling me even links not associated with images must be common urls as well to make them also secure?

Why if I remove the three javascript lines does the page work perfectly then as is?

I'f I'm misunderstanding please clarify.

Marty


CCP 5.1
CCP 5.1
CCP 5.1

Offline

 

#12 12-11-2003 10:27:37

scoutch
Banned
Registered: 07-03-2003
Posts: 3167

Re: Secure Checkout Problems

If you have your own SSL connection, you must set from, your program settings under the admin section, the two first lines appropriatly. If those two are not clarified, it is for sure that your checkout process won't be successful.


______________________________________________

THIS USER HAS BEEN BANNED FROM THIS FORUM.

If this post contains any language related to
code samples, advice, etc., please read this
entire thread before making a decision to use
this post as a basis for any change to your
software installation.
______________________________________________

Offline

 

#13 12-11-2003 11:31:34

TerryA
Member
From: Sanford, Fl
Registered: 07-14-2003
Posts: 1322
Website

Re: Secure Checkout Problems

EagleWolf,12/10/2003 10:37:10 PM wrote:

Go to your secure checkout page and then go to view source in the browser, you will find many links on that pages which are http instead of https that is the cuase of your security problem. All links on a secure page must be https, if even one comes us http it will not be secure.

If you have a Flash element on your page, how do you handle the associated links to macromedia?  Or do I have to get rid of the Flash element?  I also have links to a site on a different server that is causing a problem.  Is there any way to remedy this short of removing the links?

Offline

 

#14 12-11-2003 12:01:13

scoutch
Banned
Registered: 07-03-2003
Posts: 3167

Re: Secure Checkout Problems

Doh ! I knew I shoudn't had to delete my Flash CSV project. I converted the images with flash instead. I believe I still have the article for this. Let me get it.


______________________________________________

THIS USER HAS BEEN BANNED FROM THIS FORUM.

If this post contains any language related to
code samples, advice, etc., please read this
entire thread before making a decision to use
this post as a basis for any change to your
software installation.
______________________________________________

Offline

 

#15 12-11-2003 12:02:51

scoutch
Banned
Registered: 07-03-2003
Posts: 3167

Re: Secure Checkout Problems

Here's the post :


______________________________________________

THIS USER HAS BEEN BANNED FROM THIS FORUM.

If this post contains any language related to
code samples, advice, etc., please read this
entire thread before making a decision to use
this post as a basis for any change to your
software installation.
______________________________________________

Offline

 

#16 12-11-2003 13:31:36

TerryA
Member
From: Sanford, Fl
Registered: 07-14-2003
Posts: 1322
Website

Re: Secure Checkout Problems

I may be missing something, but what does this post have to do with having a secure error when switching to https? 

One thing that would solve this problem is if it were possible to have a separate ste_layout for when the cart goes into secure mode. Has anyone done a hack for this or have any ideas how it might be implemented?  The subject has been brought up a couple times before this but no solution was offered.

Offline

 

#17 12-11-2003 13:34:37

scoutch
Banned
Registered: 07-03-2003
Posts: 3167

Re: Secure Checkout Problems

Ohhh ! I misunderstood then. Sorry. smile

For a second layout issue, I do know that you would need to edit ste_exec.pl, vars.pl and steelement.csv for additional entries.


______________________________________________

THIS USER HAS BEEN BANNED FROM THIS FORUM.

If this post contains any language related to
code samples, advice, etc., please read this
entire thread before making a decision to use
this post as a basis for any change to your
software installation.
______________________________________________

Offline

 

#18 12-13-2003 10:22:24

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19798
Website

Re: Secure Checkout Problems

You need to use the (CGIVAR)images_path(/CGIVAR) codes in your images paths to avoid SSL warnings when switching over to SSL.  The script automatically replaces those with the right URL at the right time. 


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

#19 12-13-2003 10:23:31

scoutch
Banned
Registered: 07-03-2003
Posts: 3167

Re: Secure Checkout Problems

Oki


______________________________________________

THIS USER HAS BEEN BANNED FROM THIS FORUM.

If this post contains any language related to
code samples, advice, etc., please read this
entire thread before making a decision to use
this post as a basis for any change to your
software installation.
______________________________________________

Offline

 

#20 04-24-2004 13:30:25

kiwimum
Member
Registered: 03-30-2004
Posts: 305
Website

Re: Secure Checkout Problems

EagleWolf,10/24/2003 12:24:52 PM wrote:

no what you need to do is use the CCP element instead of coding the paths.

ie.




should be:
(CGIVAR)images_path(/CGIVAR)/site/

that way CCP will change from http to https depending on what part of the site they are going to.

Within the global settings menu, under Manage Program settings - do you mean to change the "Path to Secure Site media Directory URL" from

to (CGIVAR)images_path(/CGIVAR)/site/?

I tried this and it didn't work - I then had broken images all over the cart pages.

The images that were/are broken are the logo, site link buttons etc... which are all uploaded to the www folder on the server.

I tried adding all those images to the site folder but they remain broken.

I also tried linking each image with the following:

(CGIVAR)images_path(/CGIVAR/logo.gif  but I'm not sure if that is correct.

Please help.


Jessica
:: CCP5 > CCP6 > Magento > CCP7

Offline

 

#21 05-03-2004 07:48:07

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19798
Website

Re: Secure Checkout Problems

Just change that to:



And everything will work.  Also, make sure the images in your layout use:

(CGIVAR)images_path(/CGIVAR)/site


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

#22 06-07-2004 19:44:09

TerryA
Member
From: Sanford, Fl
Registered: 07-14-2003
Posts: 1322
Website

Re: Secure Checkout Problems

Again, I will ask this question:

If you have a Flash element on your page, how do you handle the associated links to macromedia? Or do I have to get rid of the Flash element? I also have links to a site on a different server that is causing a problem. Is there any way to remedy this short of removing the links?

Offline

 

#23 06-07-2004 19:54:39

EagleWolf
Member
From: Daytona Beach, FL
Registered: 07-27-2003
Posts: 979

Re: Secure Checkout Problems

I think you can change the macromedia to https, or you can just download the app and load it locally and link to it.


Chris
<a href='mailto:webmaster@equivity.com'>webmaster@equivity.com</a>
-

Offline

 

#24 06-07-2004 21:17:20

Todd
Member
From: Kitty Hawk, NC
Registered: 04-01-2003
Posts: 553
Website

Re: Secure Checkout Problems

There are a couple of sections that are worth reading at Macromedia that can help in this regard... that of understanding how Flash works under SSL and what can be done with it.






there's more than one way to...



Offline

 

#25 07-29-2005 07:42:16

pennyswc
Member
From: Staffordshire, UK
Registered: 08-31-2004
Posts: 136
Website

Re: Secure Checkout Problems

Hello Everyone,

How then does one handle links out to another site - if for example i was linking to  from a secure area i am understanding that that will make the page insecure?

So how should i link to an external website?

Offline

 

Board footer