Kryptronic Software Support Forum

You are viewing this forum as a guest. Login to an existing account, or create a new account, to reply to topics and to create new topics.

#1 10-16-2003 12:47:00

superhero2000
Member
From: Harrisburg, PA
Registered: 03-26-2003
Posts: 1025
Website

Display Progress Through Checkout

Ok, I've read many posts about people trying to attempt this mod and so I did it this way.  Another way to do this hack can be read at:

However, I haven't tried that method and am not sure if you can display some type of image that way, meaning a progress bar of some type.  Below is what I did which allows you to use images to display the progress.  Please be aware that this is using Tikis default checkout process.

Look for these subroutines in the ste_chkout.pl  and replace with the following:

Code:


Look for this subroutine:

#######################################################################
# Ste ChkOut Intro                                                    #
#######################################################################

sub ste_chkout_intro {



AND REPLACE WITH:

#######################################################################
# Ste ChkOut Intro                                                    #
#######################################################################

sub ste_chkout_intro {
print "<h3>Step 1 of 3 - Billing & Shipping Info</h3><BR>";


Look for this subroutine:

#######################################################################
# Ste ChkOut Meth                                                     #
#######################################################################

sub ste_chkout_meth {


AND REPLACE WITH:

#######################################################################
# Ste ChkOut Meth                                                     #
#######################################################################

sub ste_chkout_meth {
print "<h3>Step 2 of 3 - Payment Method</h3><BR>";


Look for this subroutine:

#######################################################################
# Ste ChkOut Fin                                                      #
#######################################################################

sub ste_chkout_fin {



AND REPLACE WITH:

#######################################################################
# Ste ChkOut Fin                                                      #
#######################################################################

sub ste_chkout_fin {
print "<h3>Step 3 of 3 - Order Review</h3><BR>";

Next, search for this line: $print_message_id = "64";

Delete ALL instances of this so that the default message does not show up. 

In order to change the order confirmation page display, go to Manage HTML Pages and Elements > Manage HTML Pages (System) > update Online Store - Order Confirmation.

Above (CGIGET TYPE="ELEMENT" VALUE="ste_strhd_orderconf") add <h3>Step 4 of 4 - Order Confirmation</h3> or whatever message you like.

Also, you can replace the text in this code:
print "<h3>Step 1 of 3 - Billing & Shipping Info</h3><BR>";
with a link to an image.

Thats pretty much it!  You can see this mod in action at .  The store is currently still under construction so the only products available to add to cart is under Bikes > Forks. 

Hope this is helpful to everyone!


Vinh
VQC Designs, LLC


Offline

 

#2 10-16-2003 17:48:29

EagleWolf
Member
From: Daytona Beach, FL
Registered: 07-27-2003
Posts: 979

Re: Display Progress Through Checkout

Thats sweet!, thanks


Chris
<a href='mailto:webmaster@equivity.com'>webmaster@equivity.com</a>
-

Offline

 

#3 10-31-2003 09:25:53

Lisaweb
Member
From: CA
Registered: 04-21-2003
Posts: 417

Re: Display Progress Through Checkout

Simple but fantastic mod!  Much easier for the customer to navigate through.

Thanks!

Offline

 

#4 10-31-2003 23:18:11

Charles
Member
From: USA
Registered: 12-24-2002
Posts: 252

Re: Display Progress Through Checkout

Cool Mod
I will have to try this out!!  This will make it much easier for the customers that way they know how far they are into the checkout process!!!


Charles

Offline

 

#5 11-28-2003 23:36:22

altmedic
Member
Registered: 11-07-2002
Posts: 346

Re: Display Progress Through Checkout

Is that little progress bar 4 different images?   

Offline

 

#6 11-29-2003 15:16:08

superhero2000
Member
From: Harrisburg, PA
Registered: 03-26-2003
Posts: 1025
Website

Re: Display Progress Through Checkout

Yes it is.


Vinh
VQC Designs, LLC


Offline

 

#7 12-13-2003 14:10:34

theblade24
Member
From: Tampa, Florida
Registered: 11-19-2003
Posts: 384
Website

Re: Display Progress Through Checkout

superhero2000,10/16/2003 12:47:00 PM wrote:

Ok, I've read many posts about people trying to attempt this mod and so I did it this way.  Another way to do this hack can be read at:

However, I haven't tried that method and am not sure if you can display some type of image that way, meaning a progress bar of some type.  Below is what I did which allows you to use images to display the progress.  Please be aware that this is using Tikis default checkout process.

Look for these subroutines in the ste_chkout.pl  and replace with the following:

Code:


Look for this subroutine:

#######################################################################
# Ste ChkOut Intro                                                    #
#######################################################################

sub ste_chkout_intro {



AND REPLACE WITH:

#######################################################################
# Ste ChkOut Intro                                                    #
#######################################################################

sub ste_chkout_intro {
print "<h3>Step 1 of 3 - Billing & Shipping Info</h3><BR>";


Look for this subroutine:

#######################################################################
# Ste ChkOut Meth                                                     #
#######################################################################

sub ste_chkout_meth {


AND REPLACE WITH:

#######################################################################
# Ste ChkOut Meth                                                     #
#######################################################################

sub ste_chkout_meth {
print "<h3>Step 2 of 3 - Payment Method</h3><BR>";


Look for this subroutine:

#######################################################################
# Ste ChkOut Fin                                                      #
#######################################################################

sub ste_chkout_fin {



AND REPLACE WITH:

#######################################################################
# Ste ChkOut Fin                                                      #
#######################################################################

sub ste_chkout_fin {
print "<h3>Step 3 of 3 - Order Review</h3><BR>";

Next, search for this line: $print_message_id = "64";

Delete ALL instances of this so that the default message does not show up. 

In order to change the order confirmation page display, go to Manage HTML Pages and Elements > Manage HTML Pages (System) > update Online Store - Order Confirmation.

Above (CGIGET TYPE="ELEMENT" VALUE="ste_strhd_orderconf") add <h3>Step 4 of 4 - Order Confirmation</h3> or whatever message you like.

Also, you can replace the text in this code:
print "<h3>Step 1 of 3 - Billing & Shipping Info</h3><BR>";
with a link to an image.

Thats pretty much it!  You can see this mod in action at .  The store is currently still under construction so the only products available to add to cart is under Bikes > Forks. 

Hope this is helpful to everyone!

ok, I'm trying this mod and can't get by an internal server error going to the checkout page.

Here is the first part of the mod:

#######################################################################
# Ste ChkOut Intro                                                    #
#######################################################################

sub ste_chkout_intro {

print "<p class="center"><IMG SRC="(CGIVAR)images_path(/CGIVAR)/button/progress_bar1.gif" WIDTH="350" HEIGHT="40" BORDER="0"></p><br>";

&initialize_sub_add('ste_chkout_intro');

What am I doing wrong? Is there something wrong with this first part to display the checkout page?

I HAVE also deleted all references to $print_message_id = "64";

I can't even get to the first page?


CCP 5.1
CCP 5.1
CCP 5.1

Offline

 

#8 12-19-2003 12:45:44

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19798
Website

Re: Display Progress Through Checkout

The problem is with your code:

Code:


print "<p class="center"><IMG SRC="(CGIVAR)images_path(/CGIVAR)/button/progress_bar1.gif" WIDTH="350" HEIGHT="40" BORDER="0"></p><br>";

Any " within the print statement need to be escaped like this:

Code:


print "<p class=\"center\"><IMG SRC=\"(CGIVAR)images_path(/CGIVAR)/button/progress_bar1.gif\" WIDTH=\"350\" HEIGHT=\"40\" BORDER=\"0\"></p><br>";

Or you need to use heredocs:

Code:


print <<ENDOFTEXT;

<p class="center"><IMG SRC="(CGIVAR)images_path(/CGIVAR)/button/progress_bar1.gif" WIDTH="350" HEIGHT="40" BORDER="0"></p><br>

ENDOFTEXT


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

#9 12-26-2003 08:40:23

theblade24
Member
From: Tampa, Florida
Registered: 11-19-2003
Posts: 384
Website

Re: Display Progress Through Checkout

Awesome, works perfect!


CCP 5.1
CCP 5.1
CCP 5.1

Offline

 

#10 12-26-2003 11:24:25

altmedic
Member
Registered: 11-07-2002
Posts: 346

Re: Display Progress Through Checkout

Will this mod apply to ccp5 as well as Tiki?

Offline

 

#11 12-26-2003 11:53:44

superhero2000
Member
From: Harrisburg, PA
Registered: 03-26-2003
Posts: 1025
Website

Re: Display Progress Through Checkout

YES


Vinh
VQC Designs, LLC


Offline

 

#12 01-05-2004 01:05:36

Teliger
Member
Registered: 12-29-2003
Posts: 7

Re: Display Progress Through Checkout

Hi.  This is a great idea, but I have been unsuccessful trying to get it to work.  Can someone please tell me where the problem might be?  I am getting a place holder for the picture, but it is not centered and the picture does not show up.  I have the progress_bar1.jpg in my media/images/site folder... I did make it a .jpg

Any ideas?  THANKS!


#######################################################################
# Ste ChkOut Intro                                                    #
#######################################################################

sub ste_chkout_intro {

print "<p class=\"center\"><IMG SRC=\"(CGIVAR)images_path(/CGIVAR)/site/progress_bar1.jpg\" WIDTH=\"350\" HEIGHT=\"40\" BORDER=\"0\"></p><br>";

&initialize_sub_add('ste_chkout_intro');

Offline

 

#13 01-05-2004 07:53:16

WayneK
Member
Registered: 08-17-2003
Posts: 256
Website

Re: Display Progress Through Checkout

get rid of (CGIVAR) and (/CGIVAR) and use $images_path. (CGIVAR) is used by CCP to mark the location to put site variables in the elements.

You also might want to pu that line after &initialize_sub_add('ste_chkout_intro');


- Wayne
<-- Witty Clever Phrase Goes Here -->

Offline

 

#14 01-05-2004 18:57:14

Teliger
Member
Registered: 12-29-2003
Posts: 7

Re: Display Progress Through Checkout

That did the trick!  Thanks for the help!

Offline

 

#15 02-05-2004 16:30:01

Big Dave
Member
Registered: 10-24-2003
Posts: 742

Re: Display Progress Through Checkout

NICE! Thank you for this mod. Works great.

Offline

 

#16 02-29-2004 19:34:03

jetbaby
Member
Registered: 02-26-2004
Posts: 6
Website

Re: Display Progress Through Checkout

Great mod ... I was just wondering ... we're doing our own secure credit card authorizations and can't figure out how to get a progress header on the payment information page that comes up after the order review.  Any ideas?


"Always acknowledge a fault. This will throw those in authority off their guard and give you an opportunity to commit more."

Mark Twain

Offline

 

#17 02-29-2004 23:58:20

scoutch
Banned
Registered: 07-03-2003
Posts: 3167

Re: Display Progress Through Checkout

If so, you can still follow the same procedure for the routine. As for the (CGIGET TYPE, you'd need to paste it in the right place in your customized credit card page process. By placing it in the header of your page, it should appear correctly.


______________________________________________

THIS USER HAS BEEN BANNED FROM THIS FORUM.

If this post contains any language related to
code samples, advice, etc., please read this
entire thread before making a decision to use
this post as a basis for any change to your
software installation.
______________________________________________

Offline

 

#18 03-01-2004 13:41:36

jetbaby
Member
Registered: 02-26-2004
Posts: 6
Website

Re: Display Progress Through Checkout

The problem is that we're CCP's credit card payment information page and I can't seem find it to modify it.  I don't know which file I'm looking to edit and was hoping someone could point me in the right direction.


"Always acknowledge a fault. This will throw those in authority off their guard and give you an opportunity to commit more."

Mark Twain

Offline

 

#19 03-01-2004 13:49:57

scoutch
Banned
Registered: 07-03-2003
Posts: 3167

Re: Display Progress Through Checkout

In this case, that would be in : Main menu -- > Orders & Payments, Manage Payment Methods. Then, click : update on the offline credit caed processing and add the (CGIGET TYPE on the very top of that form.

Does this answer to your question ?


______________________________________________

THIS USER HAS BEEN BANNED FROM THIS FORUM.

If this post contains any language related to
code samples, advice, etc., please read this
entire thread before making a decision to use
this post as a basis for any change to your
software installation.
______________________________________________

Offline

 

#20 03-01-2004 18:29:41

jetbaby
Member
Registered: 02-26-2004
Posts: 6
Website

Re: Display Progress Through Checkout

Thanks yes ... this does answer my question smile
I really appreciate all the help you've provided ... thanks again!!


"Always acknowledge a fault. This will throw those in authority off their guard and give you an opportunity to commit more."

Mark Twain

Offline

 

#21 03-01-2004 18:38:52

scoutch
Banned
Registered: 07-03-2003
Posts: 3167

Re: Display Progress Through Checkout

No problem. smile


______________________________________________

THIS USER HAS BEEN BANNED FROM THIS FORUM.

If this post contains any language related to
code samples, advice, etc., please read this
entire thread before making a decision to use
this post as a basis for any change to your
software installation.
______________________________________________

Offline

 

#22 05-05-2004 04:49:48

benhogan
Member
Registered: 04-21-2004
Posts: 76

Re: Display Progress Through Checkout

Hi just trying to do this mod in the main pl script i put this but not working think
i just made some crap up and put it in the code can someone help

#######################################################################
# Ste ChkOut Intro                                                    #
#######################################################################

sub ste_chkout_intro {
print "<IMG SRC="http://fluentblu.com/images/step1.gif"<br>";

Offline

 

#23 05-05-2004 10:06:00

scoutch
Banned
Registered: 07-03-2003
Posts: 3167

Re: Display Progress Through Checkout

Replace this :

print "<IMG SRC="http://fluentblu.com/images/step1.gif"<br>";

to read :

Code:


print <<ENDOFTEXT;

<IMG SRC="$design_firm_url/$images_path/site/step1.gif">

<br>

ENDOFTEXT

Upload your images in /media/images/site as well.


______________________________________________

THIS USER HAS BEEN BANNED FROM THIS FORUM.

If this post contains any language related to
code samples, advice, etc., please read this
entire thread before making a decision to use
this post as a basis for any change to your
software installation.
______________________________________________

Offline

 

#24 05-05-2004 15:17:52

altmedic
Member
Registered: 11-07-2002
Posts: 346

Re: Display Progress Through Checkout

I've been trying to insert a font face callout in ste_chkout.pl as part of displaying this "display progress of checkout" mod.  I tried just putting the html <font face> callout in, like this:

print <b><font face="Arial, Verdana, Helvetica"><"Step 1 of 3: Shipping & Billing Info"</font></b>;

but I get a script execution error.  <b></b> works okay alone.

What would be the correct way to change the font in ste_chkout.pl?   smile 

Offline

 

#25 05-05-2004 15:36:21

scoutch
Banned
Registered: 07-03-2003
Posts: 3167

Re: Display Progress Through Checkout

Replace :



print <b><font face="Arial, Verdana, Helvetica"><"Step 1 of 3: Shipping & Billing Info"</font></b>";

To read :

Code:


print <<ENDOFTEXT;

<font face="Arial, Verdana, Helvetica"><b>"Step 1 of 3: Shipping & Billing Info"</font></b>

ENDOFTEXT


______________________________________________

THIS USER HAS BEEN BANNED FROM THIS FORUM.

If this post contains any language related to
code samples, advice, etc., please read this
entire thread before making a decision to use
this post as a basis for any change to your
software installation.
______________________________________________

Offline

 

Board footer