Kryptronic Software Support Forum

You are viewing this forum as a guest. Login to an existing account, or create a new account, to reply to topics and to create new topics.

#1 04-23-2020 05:16:04

Nathan EIC
Member
Registered: 10-22-2014
Posts: 13

Inventory Items

Hello,

Was wondering why the management of inventory has been moved to a separate location to the product offer from Europacart 8.

Now it requires more effort to set up new products as we have to create an inventory item and also a product offer, which are on two different screens but will have the same information. (id, display name, prod num etc.)

Also this leads to more human error as it seems the checkout items are determined from the inventory item linked to the product offer (not the product offer itself), so if cloned it can lead to more expensive items being ordered at lower prices if the inventory had not been changed (this was never a problem before).

If it is for accounting or any other function, surely the data required would be available from the ecom_prod table if the inventory details were in this table, which would allow the inventory information to be contained within product offers.

We have had to work all this out ourselves as there is no user manual for this software even though it has been available for over a year now.

Thanks,
Nathan

Offline

 

#2 04-23-2020 08:08:34

frank-kryptronic
Administrator
Registered: 09-04-2018
Posts: 5

Re: Inventory Items

Nathan,

It was separated for accounting purposes as well as giving full inventory control. Most of it has to do with Purchase orders If you have the system set up as well as being able to track dropshipped inventory. There were many reasons behind the split. We do have a potential mod in the works that would create the inventory item for you to create a product offer.

The software has been only available to our current customers and has not been released to the public. As for a manual, we have one available at  https://kryptronic.com/DEVMANUAL/


Frank Stanley
Custom Shop Manager

Offline

 

#3 04-23-2020 09:25:44

Nathan EIC
Member
Registered: 10-22-2014
Posts: 13

Re: Inventory Items

Thanks for your reply Frank.

So it's because the accounting/ purchase orders and other functions use inventory but do not require all the other product information in ecom_prod I'm assuming?

The mod would be useful, and also the ability to amend the stock value from the product offer update.

"As of January 31, 2019, with update 9.0.3, the all-new, all-different K9 platform is available to all clients (new and existing)"

Offline

 

#4 04-28-2020 09:11:02

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19531
Website

Re: Inventory Items

Inventory is separate in K9 so that you can sell it in different ways (different product offers, Amazon. eBay, Walmart, as add ons, etc) and still have a single inventory record.  This makes ensuring accurate inventory is available on all channels possible, as well as speeds up the product offer creation process.  Offers hold display/catalog/SEO info and pricing.  Inventory is sold by offers and has data like inventory/shipping/accounting info attached to it.


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

#5 04-28-2020 10:49:51

Nathan EIC
Member
Registered: 10-22-2014
Posts: 13

Re: Inventory Items

While the rest may be true, it definitely does not speed up product offer creation as we have to create the product offer, then also create an inventory item then link them together, rather than just having the inventory in the product info, this could lead to human error, especially when cloning is a thing.

Offline

 

#6 04-29-2020 10:31:16

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19531
Website

Re: Inventory Items

Reverse your process and add all your inventory first.  Then concentrate on selling it with product offers.  You'll find the listing process for offers very fast if your inventory is set up ahead of time.  When setting up your inventory, the clone feature is very handy because often times the same inventory and shipping settings are used for items across the store.


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

Board footer