Kryptronic Software Support Forum

You are viewing this forum as a guest. Login to an existing account, or create a new account, to reply to topics and to create new topics.

#1 04-22-2017 11:14:20

GlennMUK
Member
From: Dublin, Ireland
Registered: 03-26-2004
Posts: 155

Main Banner Image sizes

Hi

Is there a recommended image dimension to use for each of the Display Modes for the Banner images?

I currently only have an image set fr the Mid Display Mode but it is looking stretched/pixelated on a desktop.


Mid Display Mode (Tablet) Image
Thin Display Mode (Mobile) Image
Wide Display Mode (Desktop) Image


I notice on 855Sheller.com that there seems to be a fixed max dimension used on the desktop and then it gets smaller.  Is this the best way to go?

Offline

 

#2 04-24-2017 07:24:15

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19312
Website

Re: Main Banner Image sizes

Banner size really depends on how you've got your site styled.  If you have a full-width site, it's best to pick a max width around 1400px and work from there.  If you have a fixed-width layout, set that as your max width.  If you can get your file sizes small enough on those large banners, and the content is readable all the way down on mobile devices, there's no need to upload multiple banners - just upload one to the 'Mid Display Mode (Tablet) Image' field.  The multiple slots allow you to change the banners on the fly as the device resizes from small to big or visa-versa.


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

#3 04-24-2017 16:06:51

GlennMUK
Member
From: Dublin, Ireland
Registered: 03-26-2004
Posts: 155

Re: Main Banner Image sizes

Brilliant thanks Nick.

Set max width to 1100 and changed all banners to max width of 1100 too and this has sorted it out.  All looking good now.

Many thanks.

Offline

 

#4 04-25-2017 08:01:48

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19312
Website

Re: Main Banner Image sizes

One thing I should have added was to keep the height consistent in banner groups so that if you end up with rotating banners they don't jump everywhere.


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

#5 06-24-2019 08:22:18

Panmanjon
Member
From: Manchester UK
Registered: 08-18-2004
Posts: 336
Website

Re: Main Banner Image sizes

Just updated V8 to V9 and noted that the V9 site banner displays are rather large - I used the importer V8-V9 to get the site updated - the version 8 site is wel.biz and the v9 site is http://wel.biz/Store-V9/ - can anyone point me in the right direction please? - Thanks

Offline

 

#6 06-26-2019 07:05:59

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19312
Website

Re: Main Banner Image sizes


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

Board footer