Kryptronic Software Support Forum

You are viewing this forum as a guest. Login to an existing account, or create a new account, to reply to topics and to create new topics.

#1 02-13-2017 06:58:17

unet
Member
Registered: 10-24-2013
Posts: 104

Special characters

Hello
There are some products in my store that the name and description are in Portuguese.  When I type portuguÍs and save it apears portugu√s instead.

Offline

 

#2 02-13-2017 10:02:48

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19516
Website

Re: Special characters

You likely will want to change the charset at the top of the skin.php file for your active skin to the character set you want to use.


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

#3 02-13-2017 10:26:11

unet
Member
Registered: 10-24-2013
Posts: 104

Re: Special characters

webmaster wrote:

You likely will want to change the charset at the top of the skin.php file for your active skin to the character set you want to use.

Hello
Where do I find the file skin.php?

Offline

 

#4 02-14-2017 00:46:37

unet
Member
Registered: 10-24-2013
Posts: 104

Re: Special characters

Hello
I found two skin.php, one on skins/Desktop, and the other on skins/Mobile.  Should I change both, I have tried changing the one on the desktop directory and no luck.

Offline

 

#5 02-14-2017 10:24:58

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19516
Website

Re: Special characters

Look under System / Component / Settings / Display Skin Settings and check which skins are active there.  Mod those.  If that doesn't work, have your host change the character set and/or encoding Apache is running under.  UTF-8 should work.  If not, your specific language encoding is what you want.


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

#6 02-15-2017 06:24:47

unet
Member
Registered: 10-24-2013
Posts: 104

Re: Special characters

Hello
I try changing the charset on the skin.php and also tried changing the character set and encoding running on Apache and no luck.The people on the hosting company that I should ask you in which of the table in the database this entry is stored and check if the correct charset is set for that table.

Offline

 

#7 02-15-2017 08:40:22

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19516
Website

Re: Special characters

Good call looking at the database too.  Forgot about that.  They may need to change the encoding on the tables in the database.  The table you referenced is ecom_prod, but it's best to change the encoding on the whole database to avoid issues in other areas as well.


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

#8 02-16-2017 04:45:26

unet
Member
Registered: 10-24-2013
Posts: 104

Re: Special characters

webmaster wrote:

Good call looking at the database too.  Forgot about that.  They may need to change the encoding on the tables in the database.  The table you referenced is ecom_prod, but it's best to change the encoding on the whole database to avoid issues in other areas as well.

I changed the encoding on the entire database and stil have the same result

Offline

 

#9 02-16-2017 05:27:56

west4
Member
From: UK
Registered: 04-16-2008
Posts: 637
Website

Re: Special characters

Hi,

Something somewhere is interpreting your encoding as Windows-1252 or ISO-8859-1
Look in the "View Source" code of your admin page too. Did you change the admin skin admin.php and or skin.php in the SKINS/Core folder to your preferred encoding as they both declare your encoding?

Cheers,
Bruce.


I'd rather have a full bottle in front of me, than a full frontal labotomy.

Offline

 

#10 02-16-2017 07:54:27

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19516
Website

Re: Special characters

I'm not sure if Apache is being changed.  That would be what I would have hit right after the skins.


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

#11 02-16-2017 09:39:48

unet
Member
Registered: 10-24-2013
Posts: 104

Re: Special characters

webmaster wrote:

I'm not sure if Apache is being changed.  That would be what I would have hit right after the skins.

I have attached the following line on the .htaccess file: "AddCharset utf-8 .html .css .php .txt .js" . And people on my hosting company say that there is no problem with apache.  In the same domain I have pages (outside of the store folder) that are in portuguese and they accept the special characters.

Offline

 

#12 02-16-2017 09:55:46

unet
Member
Registered: 10-24-2013
Posts: 104

Re: Special characters

west4 wrote:

Hi,

Something somewhere is interpreting your encoding as Windows-1252 or ISO-8859-1
Look in the "View Source" code of your admin page too. Did you change the admin skin admin.php and or skin.php in the SKINS/Core folder to your preferred encoding as they both declare your encoding?

Cheers,
Bruce.

I'm new to php, I don't see the <head> tags on the admin.php, and SKIN/COREMI8/skin.php , where I am suppose to insert the encoding tag?

Offline

 

#13 02-16-2017 11:43:58

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19516
Website

Re: Special characters

Search for ISO-8859-1.  It's at the top of the files:

Code:

<meta http-equiv="content-type" content="text/html; charset=ISO-8859-1" />

Nick Hendler

Offline

 

#14 02-17-2017 01:30:59

unet
Member
Registered: 10-24-2013
Posts: 104

Re: Special characters

webmaster wrote:

Search for ISO-8859-1.  It's at the top of the files:

Code:

<meta http-equiv="content-type" content="text/html; charset=ISO-8859-1" />

There was no ISO-8859-1, so i put the tag (
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" /> ) before <?php but still no luck.

Offline

 

#15 02-17-2017 07:26:19

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19516
Website

Re: Special characters

Did you ever check encoding on your Apache webserver?


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

#16 02-17-2017 07:35:08

unet
Member
Registered: 10-24-2013
Posts: 104

Re: Special characters

webmaster wrote:

Did you ever check encoding on your Apache webserver?

I have attached the following line on the .htaccess file: "AddCharset utf-8 .html .css .php .txt .js" (to put the encoding to portuguese). And people on my hosting company say that there is no problem with apache.  In the same domain I have pages (outside of the store folder) that are in portuguese and they accept the special characters.

Offline

 

#17 02-17-2017 10:45:34

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19516
Website

Re: Special characters

When you load your site using a debugger like FireBug for FireFox, does the encoding in the headers show up properly?  Are the other pages you referenced encoded in UTF-8 or something else?


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

#18 02-17-2017 11:22:29

unet
Member
Registered: 10-24-2013
Posts: 104

Re: Special characters

webmaster wrote:

When you load your site using a debugger like FireBug for FireFox, does the encoding in the headers show up properly?  Are the other pages you referenced encoded in UTF-8 or something else?

I'm not sure, I'm using joomla... I don't see the tags of encoding on the index.php.

Offline

 

#19 02-17-2017 11:53:59

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19516
Website

Re: Special characters

Please direct this issue to the people responsible for Joomla.  You're using their system to render the site.  That info would have been helpful to start.


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

#20 02-21-2017 04:45:14

west4
Member
From: UK
Registered: 04-16-2008
Posts: 637
Website

Re: Special characters

Hi Unet,

Yep you need to change the Joomla default....

Cheers,
Bruce.


I'd rather have a full bottle in front of me, than a full frontal labotomy.

Offline

 

#21 02-23-2017 08:21:59

unet
Member
Registered: 10-24-2013
Posts: 104

Re: Special characters

west4 wrote:

Hi Unet,

Yep you need to change the Joomla default....

Cheers,
Bruce.

Hi Bruce
Can you explain better...

Offline

 

#22 02-23-2017 10:42:56

west4
Member
From: UK
Registered: 04-16-2008
Posts: 637
Website

Re: Special characters

Hi,

I haven't used joomla for a few years, but I suspect It's a bit beyond this thread, I would google it or use the joomla forums..
How can you change the output encoding for joomla?

If you need your output encoding set to UTF-8 instead of Joomla's default iso-8859-1 just go to your current language file and search for :

DEFINE('_ISO','charset=iso-8859-1');

you can change it to

DEFINE('_ISO','charset=utf-8');


Cheers,
Bruce.


I'd rather have a full bottle in front of me, than a full frontal labotomy.

Offline

 

#23 02-24-2017 01:45:53

unet
Member
Registered: 10-24-2013
Posts: 104

Re: Special characters

The thing I don't understand is why should I change anything on joomla encoding when them special characters appear in joomla.  I also found a file that has  the encoding that I want... ClickCartPro is the software that does not accept special characters.

Offline

 

#24 02-24-2017 07:57:11

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19516
Website

Re: Special characters

So you're not having issues viewing special characters when viewing the online store, just saving them to the database and viewing them in admin?


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

#25 02-24-2017 08:58:07

unet
Member
Registered: 10-24-2013
Posts: 104

Re: Special characters

webmaster wrote:

So you're not having issues viewing special characters when viewing the online store, just saving them to the database and viewing them in admin?

I'm trying to sell tutorials, I have one part of the site created with joomla that has demos. And I have another part of the web site that is the online store, that is where I have problems displaying the special characters, on the front end of the store and the admin.

Offline

 

Board footer