Kryptronic Software Support Forum

You are viewing this forum as a guest. Login to an existing account, or create a new account, to reply to topics and to create new topics.

#1 03-04-2016 11:30:34

coatzel21
Member
From: Boston
Registered: 03-04-2014
Posts: 150
Website

Removing Indexed Content

Any tips and tricks for deleting outdated products and pages? Cleaning out some discontinued products and want to make sure the searches delete as well.

Mostly been following the steps taken here: http://www.seoblog.com/2014/06/google-i … ted-pages/

Offline

 

#2 03-04-2016 16:12:03

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19723
Website

Re: Removing Indexed Content

If you're running the V8 package (or higher, soon), and you have it running your whole site, when a URL that's not found is accessed, a 404 error is produced.  Any engine worth their salt (including Googlebot) will remove that 404'ed link from their index when encountered.  It just takes a matter of time for everything to shake out.


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

#3 05-12-2017 08:55:31

geraldz
Member
Registered: 09-27-2011
Posts: 251

Re: Removing Indexed Content

Hi Nick -

Somebody has a bad link that points to our website but it does not return a 404 error.  I get this reply:

https://snakeclamp.com/Category/ipad-sn … ket-mount-

How can I create a 404 page?

Thanks

Offline

 

#4 05-15-2017 07:33:38

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19723
Website

Re: Removing Indexed Content

Check the version of the software you're using.  Somewhere in the V8 series, very early on, the software was modified to automatically produce 404s in those and many other cases.  This carries forward, of course, to K9, for which I believe you have an upgrade underway.


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

#5 05-23-2017 16:46:58

geraldz
Member
Registered: 09-27-2011
Posts: 251

Re: Removing Indexed Content

My component base is 8.0.4.

When a visitor lands on a page that does not exist they get an error message, but the software is still returning a 200 status code in the header.  How do I make it return a 404 code?

Offline

 

#6 05-24-2017 08:02:31

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19723
Website

Re: Removing Indexed Content

I recommend updating to 8.0.9 to get this 404 functionality, as well as a bunch of other enhancements and changes.  Or the custom shop can get you a quote on implementing 404 only logic.  Or you can review the forum for pre-8.0.4 404 mods.


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

#7 05-30-2017 07:31:35

geraldz
Member
Registered: 09-27-2011
Posts: 251

Re: Removing Indexed Content

I've been on Kryptronic hosting for several years now and you don't keep my software up to date?  How am I supposed to know the software was updated?

Offline

 

#8 05-31-2017 07:11:27

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19723
Website

Re: Removing Indexed Content

Kryptronic will only automatically update hosted installations with required security updates.  If an update contains any security changes which are deemed necessary for use, the security changes are isolated and all hosted installations are updated with them when released.  We do have a couple of hosting plans which include update installation for unmodified software.  I believe your software is modified, though.  We don't have very many clients on those higher level plans that aren't modified in some way.

As far as how you would know when an update is released, you would see a news article pop up at the top of this forum, and be added to the news feed in your software's management interface that you see when you login.


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

Board footer