Kryptronic Software Support Forum

You are viewing this forum as a guest. Login to an existing account, or create a new account, to reply to topics and to create new topics.

#1 10-18-2014 14:47:49

Wolverine
Member
From: Saint Johns, MI
Registered: 12-18-2007
Posts: 389
Website

Language meta tag

Google reports that I don't have a language designated, but I have the following in the heading:
<meta name="language" content="en" />

Another way was suggested to use this instead:
<meta http-equiv="content-language" content="en" />

But where does it go?

Jerry

Offline

 

#2 10-20-2014 12:57:32

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19557
Website

Re: Language meta tag

You could put that at the top of your skin in the <head>.


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

#3 10-20-2014 13:51:56

Wolverine
Member
From: Saint Johns, MI
Registered: 12-18-2007
Posts: 389
Website

Re: Language meta tag

That's where I have the <meta http-equiv="content-language" content="en" />.

Put the html statement there in addition to the above, or as a substitute for it?

Offline

 

#4 10-21-2014 08:40:52

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19557
Website

Re: Language meta tag

Both should work together, they're different meta tags.


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

#5 10-21-2014 10:08:06

Wolverine
Member
From: Saint Johns, MI
Registered: 12-18-2007
Posts: 389
Website

Re: Language meta tag

OK thanks Nick.

Offline

 

#6 10-21-2014 18:46:21

Wolverine
Member
From: Saint Johns, MI
Registered: 12-18-2007
Posts: 389
Website

Re: Language meta tag

Back again ;-(

When I view the source, neither one of those statements appear?

Offline

 

#7 10-22-2014 07:47:09

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19557
Website

Re: Language meta tag

I'm going to assume you're editing the wrong skin file.  You should be editing:

{public}/skins/Desktop/skin.php

If you're using the Desktop skin.


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

#8 10-22-2014 09:06:36

Wolverine
Member
From: Saint Johns, MI
Registered: 12-18-2007
Posts: 389
Website

Re: Language meta tag

oops

Offline

 

#9 04-19-2015 00:50:28

ThomasGiannou
Member
Registered: 02-10-2007
Posts: 184

Re: Language meta tag

The W3C standard is to pull the lang="en-us" out of the <html>  line.   I put that expression in the desktop and mobile skins.   I also put that expression into the pages on my website pages and that cleared up the SEO error of missing a language definition.

Offline

 

Board footer