Kryptronic Software Support Forum

You are viewing this forum as a guest. Login to an existing account, or create a new account, to reply to topics and to create new topics.

#1 04-13-2013 13:57:23

dh783
Member
From: Avondale, Arizona
Registered: 04-06-2005
Posts: 6233
Website

Product reviews

I was playing arround with a product that did not have any reviews posted and noticed that the review I created was showing up at the bottom, but the total count and rating was off by one, seems that the very first review info did get placed into the product database when the review was activated thru admin.

Review are set to be reviewed before activation, no loggin required (either admin location).

Has any body else noticed this?

John

Offline

 

#2 04-13-2013 23:57:29

Iceit88
Member
From: Fairview, PA
Registered: 11-19-2003
Posts: 549
Website

Re: Product reviews

Yes, I have the same problems.  When I add reviews the count seems to be off one, or sometimes the review does not post at all for the first one I enter for a product.


Bryan

Hat Trick Sports, LLC

Offline

 

#3 04-15-2013 07:58:43

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19798
Website

Re: Product reviews

There is a daily cron job that runs that updates the reviews count and average for each product.  After you add a review, check 24 hours later to make sure the count/average are correct.


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

#4 04-15-2013 09:54:06

dh783
Member
From: Avondale, Arizona
Registered: 04-06-2005
Posts: 6233
Website

Re: Product reviews

I have not seen a cron script that deals with updatiing product reviews(cms, ecom, core), at least in my install, I have also forced the cron tasks and have not seen it update.

John

Offline

 

#5 04-16-2013 08:27:43

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19798
Website

Re: Product reviews

I apologize.  I was mistaken.  When a review is updated/deleted/inserted using the management interface, a function named reviewsupdateavg() is automatically fired which updates the review number and average.  This should be happening automatically when the review is approved.


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

#6 04-16-2013 09:58:26

dh783
Member
From: Avondale, Arizona
Registered: 04-06-2005
Posts: 6233
Website

Re: Product reviews

But that is where the problem exist. On reviews that are set to auto activate they get counted in the overall rating for the item, reviews that need to be activated by admin before the are visible don't have the first review counted in the items overall review rating, an item with only one does not state that there is one review and display it's rating stars, once a sceond review is posted then the item updates with an overall review of one although two reviews are displayed in the actual review section at the bottom.

John

Offline

 

#7 04-16-2013 09:59:51

Iceit88
Member
From: Fairview, PA
Registered: 11-19-2003
Posts: 549
Website

Re: Product reviews

Yes similar problems.


Bryan

Hat Trick Sports, LLC

Offline

 

#8 04-16-2013 12:23:55

dh783
Member
From: Avondale, Arizona
Registered: 04-06-2005
Posts: 6233
Website

Re: Product reviews

In futher looking into the code for Function: reviewsupdateavg it reveals that the current review being posted is the one not being accounted for as no rating variable is being passed to the function.

Going back to the calling function of review_update and changing this code

Code:

if (empty($status))  {

     $this->reviewsupdateavg($oldcgi['prodid'], $oldcgi['id'], 0);

} else {

     $this->reviewsupdateavg($oldcgi['prodid'], $oldcgi['id'], $cgi['rating']);

} // End of if statement.

to

Code:

if (empty($status))  {

     $this->reviewsupdateavg($oldcgi['prodid'], $oldcgi['id'], 0);

} else {

     $this->reviewsupdateavg($oldcgi['prodid'], $oldcgi['id'], $oldcgi['rating']);

} // End of if statement.

corrects the current review from not being included in the updated rating of a porduct. The correction was in the call that originally had cgi['rating'], I did not see anyother key in the cgi global being presented at the time the script was executing other than status.

John

Offline

 

#9 04-17-2013 07:18:04

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19798
Website

Re: Product reviews

Thanks for the update.   I'll review this and make necessary adjustments in our next update.


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

#10 06-12-2015 05:35:14

west4
Member
From: UK
Registered: 04-16-2008
Posts: 645
Website

Re: Product reviews

Hi Nick,

This is still not fixed. Where is the call function php so I can make this fix?

Cheers,
Bruce.


I'd rather have a full bottle in front of me, than a full frontal labotomy.

Offline

 

#11 06-12-2015 08:31:34

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19798
Website

Re: Product reviews

This fell off my radar somehow.  It's not on any of my lists.  I'll have a look at it.


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

#12 06-12-2015 08:46:47

west4
Member
From: UK
Registered: 04-16-2008
Posts: 645
Website

Re: Product reviews

Thanks.


I'd rather have a full bottle in front of me, than a full frontal labotomy.

Offline

 

Board footer