Kryptronic Software Support Forum

You are viewing this forum as a guest. Login to an existing account, or create a new account, to reply to topics and to create new topics.

#1 10-26-2012 07:35:54

amdowney
Member
From: UK-Warwickshire
Registered: 09-21-2007
Posts: 507
Website

How can we set tablets to load the full site rather than mobile?

Last night I was testing my site on my pals new ipad. It loaded the mobile version of the site which although is simple and ideal for small mobile phone screens on a larger tablet screen, the full version of the site looked far better and was easy enough to navigate I thought still..

Offline

 

#2 10-26-2012 08:45:51

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19798
Website

Re: How can we set tablets to load the full site rather than mobile?

Look at the file {private}/core/CORE_Session/CORE_Session.php.  In there you will see a function named idmobile().  Adjust the mobile_devices array to exclude the devices you don't want treated as mobile.


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

#3 10-27-2012 11:39:42

Blitzen
Member
From: USA
Registered: 01-01-2005
Posts: 936

Re: How can we set tablets to load the full site rather than mobile?

Be aware that not all mobile devices, including tablets, interpret Javascript properly and you may find other issues. Maybe in a few years they will come up to full standards, but IMHO, they are still in their infancy.

Last edited by Blitzen (10-27-2012 11:40:46)

Offline

 

#4 01-22-2013 17:30:56

mixer25
Member
From: Ireland
Registered: 04-02-2006
Posts: 601

Re: How can we set tablets to load the full site rather than mobile?

Cannot find this file {private}/core/CORE_Session/CORE_Session.php? where do you go to edit this?

Offline

 

#5 01-22-2013 18:12:02

dh783
Member
From: Avondale, Arizona
Registered: 04-06-2005
Posts: 6233
Website

Re: How can we set tablets to load the full site rather than mobile?

The term {private} stands for the name (and/or location) of the directory in which you placed all of Ccp private php scripts.

John

Offline

 

#6 01-27-2013 18:14:26

meshugy
Member
Registered: 12-18-2004
Posts: 349

Re: How can we set tablets to load the full site rather than mobile?

I see the mobile device array but I'm not sure what to change in order to get it to exclude a device. Say I wanted iPads to display CCP8 with the regular desktop skin, how would that be done?

thanks!

Michael

Offline

 

#7 01-28-2013 08:51:45

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19798
Website

Re: How can we set tablets to load the full site rather than mobile?

I see the mobile device array but I'm not sure what to change in order to get it to exclude a device. Say I wanted iPads to display CCP8 with the regular desktop skin, how would that be done?

In the file {private}/core/CORE_Session/CORE_Session.php, in the function idmobile() remove the line:

Code:

'Tablet: iPad'        => 'iPad|iPad.*Mobile',

And change:

Code:

'OS: iOS'             => '(iphone|ipod|ipad)',

To:

Code:

'OS: iOS'             => '(iphone|ipod)',

Nick Hendler

Offline

 

#8 01-28-2013 18:58:17

meshugy
Member
Registered: 12-18-2004
Posts: 349

Re: How can we set tablets to load the full site rather than mobile?

thanks Nick!

Offline

 

#9 03-27-2014 04:40:33

amdowney
Member
From: UK-Warwickshire
Registered: 09-21-2007
Posts: 507
Website

Re: How can we set tablets to load the full site rather than mobile?

HI Nick,

Going back to this, if we remove all tablet devices (there are many more now not listed?) then will these tablets still default to the mobile version due to them being Android Mobile for example?

I thought there was a way of doing this by screen size rather than device ID?

(Hoping CCP9 delivers a responsive design!)

Offline

 

#10 03-27-2014 08:02:38

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19798
Website

Re: How can we set tablets to load the full site rather than mobile?

You can only do it by screen size using JavaScript (when the page is rendered, which is too late).  I would remove all OSes and all Tablets from the list and that would leave you only Phones which are explicitly identified without taking their OS into consideration.


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

Board footer