Kryptronic Software Support Forum

You are viewing this forum as a guest. Login to an existing account, or create a new account, to reply to topics and to create new topics.

#51 08-21-2012 14:54:13

Thom
Member
From: Fairmont, Minnesota
Registered: 01-17-2003
Posts: 182
Website

Re: Can we have an Update on CCP8 Release please Nick?

v8power wrote:

On the demo the "add to cart", "checkout" and "wish list" buttons are all cut off.....the button is too short not allowing all the letters to display. I'm using IE9.

I checked on FireFox 14, IE9, Chrome 21 and Safari  5.3 and none of the words are cut off. They all look great.

I am looking forward to the upgrade. V8 is a big improvement over V7.


Thom-

"Life is a banquet, and most poor suckers are starving to death!" - AUNTIE MAME

Offline

 

#52 08-21-2012 16:32:10

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19557
Website

Re: Can we have an Update on CCP8 Release please Nick?

v8power: The buttons use a CSS declaration called 'inline-block' for the 'display' node, so it's not possible they're cut off.  I'm not seeing it like that.  I don't think anyone else is either.  I've looked at them in every browser I can get my hands on.

amdowney: Thanks for the comments.  Maybe you'd like to design some skins for us once you get your head around the new system.

Thom: Thanks for checking and for the nice comments.  I think it's a big improvement too.


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

#53 08-21-2012 16:32:36

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19557
Website

Re: Can we have an Update on CCP8 Release please Nick?

V7 to V8 upgrade instructions have been triple-checked.  Here they are:

https://central.kryptronic.com/public/n … grade.html


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

#54 08-21-2012 17:20:40

Lee N
Member
Registered: 09-07-2009
Posts: 33

Re: Can we have an Update on CCP8 Release please Nick?

Nick, when are we likely to be getting the keys. Can we just this once have some honesty .. please! This release has been nothing short of diabolical.

Credit where credit is due however, regarding the skin, IMO it's the best I've seen "out of the box" from any cart, I'd probably be happy to use it mostly unmodified, that's a first.

Offline

 

#55 08-21-2012 17:29:03

amdowney
Member
From: UK-Warwickshire
Registered: 09-21-2007
Posts: 507
Website

Re: Can we have an Update on CCP8 Release please Nick?

I'm too busy to wait around all day and get stressed over delays... Funny I got 2 keys of the 5 I ordered (4 upgrades)  in 2 seperate orders but have no clue as to which ones they are meant to be replacing? Will I just get 5 new keys in total to use wherever?

Will start working it all out tommos but am in a good mood as despite the delays its the future what matters now and I'm excited about it as v8 is gonna improve sales if fully utilsed which = make more money. With the investment of some hours of course!

Yes Nick I'll see what I can come up with in little time although I am not a dedicated designer more of a jack of all trades master of some!

Offline

 

#56 08-21-2012 17:38:56

amdowney
Member
From: UK-Warwickshire
Registered: 09-21-2007
Posts: 507
Website

Re: Can we have an Update on CCP8 Release please Nick?

ahh 3 more just landed, so I assue they can be used wherever?

(Could do with a close all windows button in the new admin BTW, slick oterwise!!)

Offline

 

#57 08-21-2012 17:56:41

bbac
Member
From: Bristol, UK
Registered: 08-25-2008
Posts: 141

Re: Can we have an Update on CCP8 Release please Nick?

webmaster wrote:

V7 to V8 upgrade instructions have been triple-checked.  Here they are:
https://central.kryptronic.com/public/n … grade.html

What does "If you have a version prior to 7.0.0 - Do not run this upgrade - you need to upgrade to the version 8 platform by visiting the Kryptronic website and purchasing a new licence, for which discounted upgrade pricing is available." mean? -- I was running v6 (from Greenbarnweb) until it stopped working due to PHP5.3 being installed. I now have my upgrade key for v8. How do I upgrade my site?

Edit: found it at https://central.kryptronic.com/public/n … grade.html

Last edited by bbac (08-21-2012 17:59:31)

Offline

 

#58 08-21-2012 18:13:26

bbac
Member
From: Bristol, UK
Registered: 08-25-2008
Posts: 141

Re: Can we have an Update on CCP8 Release please Nick?

Here we go then - finally something to get on with... a midnight start, could be a long night...

Offline

 

#59 08-21-2012 19:27:29

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19557
Website

Re: Can we have an Update on CCP8 Release please Nick?

121NetDesign and Lee N:

All license keys were issued today.  If you're missing yours, please contact the custom shop .


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

#60 08-21-2012 19:27:36

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19557
Website

Re: Can we have an Update on CCP8 Release please Nick?

amdowney:

Contact the custom shop if you have questions about your keys.  If you entered a key for your upgrade order, and that key was a version 7 key, that key was upgraded so that you can install version 8 on the same site.  Follow these instructions to upgrade to version 8 for version 7 keys:

https://central.kryptronic.com/public/n … grade.html

If you entered a key for an install less that version 7 (ie. 6 or 5.1 key), then we issued a new version 8 key for you.  Follow these instructions to upgrade to version 8 for version 6/5.1 keys:

https://central.kryptronic.com/public/n … grade.html


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

#61 08-21-2012 20:06:51

bbac
Member
From: Bristol, UK
Registered: 08-25-2008
Posts: 141

Re: Can we have an Update on CCP8 Release please Nick?

It might be a nice enhancement for the importer from v5/v6 to offer to delete all the demo shop products, categories etc first before trying to import the original data....

Edit:
System Dashboard > System > Database > Raw Database Admin
delete from ecom_prod where id LIKE "DEMO-%";
delete from ecom_prodfilter where id LIKE "DEMO-%";
delete from ecom_prodoptions where id LIKE "DEMO-%";
delete from ecom_prodoptionsel where id LIKE "DEMO-%";
delete from ecom_reviews where id LIKE "DEMO-%";
and I guess (had already deleted through admin interface)
delete from ecom_cat where id LIKE "DEMO-%";

Last edited by bbac (08-21-2012 20:15:46)

Offline

 

#62 08-21-2012 20:16:49

jj1987
Moderator
From: Orlando, FL
Registered: 07-14-2008
Posts: 502
Website

Re: Can we have an Update on CCP8 Release please Nick?

you can simply do delete * from {tablename} before you import the data



-James Garrett

Offline

 

#63 08-21-2012 20:27:28

bbac
Member
From: Bristol, UK
Registered: 08-25-2008
Posts: 141

Re: Can we have an Update on CCP8 Release please Nick?

Cheers James, could do that but I'd already done the import before realising.

My shop is not working  - I get the main shop page, but clicking through to any other page I get a 404 error. Is there an htaccess rewrite line which should be set to get things working?

Offline

 

#64 08-21-2012 20:31:44

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19557
Website

Re: Can we have an Update on CCP8 Release please Nick?

Yes, there is.  You guys need to follow instructions, please.  Read this:

https://central.kryptronic.com/public/n … grade.html

Specifically this:

https://central.kryptronic.com/public/n … ANUAL.html

More specifically:

Code:

If you had SEO set up and functioning, you will need to chage the SEO rules you entered in your server's .htaccess file. Previously, SEO was configured as follows:

Options +FollowSymLinks
RewriteEngine on
RewriteRule ^(.*)-(.*)/(.*)\.html index.php?app=$1&ns=$2&ref=$3 [L,PT]

If the software is installed in the root web directory, replace these old rules with the following:

Options +FollowSymLinks
RewriteEngine on
RewriteRule ^index.php - [L,PT]
RewriteRule ^/$ index.php?COREseourl=/ [L,PT]
RewriteRule ^sitemap\.xml utilities/sitemap.xml [L,PT]
RewriteRule ^rss\.xml utilities/rss.xml [L,PT]
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} ^/
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} !\.(xml|css|js|gif|jpg|jpeg|png|pdf)$ [NC]
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteRule ^(.*) index.php?COREseourl=/$1 [L,PT]

If the software is installed in a subdirectory below your root web directory, replace these old rules with the following:

Options +FollowSymLinks
RewriteEngine on
RewriteRule ^index.php - [L,PT]
RewriteRule ^directoryname/$ directoryname/index.php?COREseourl=/ [L,PT]
RewriteRule ^directoryname/sitemap\.xml directoryname/utilities/sitemap.xml [L,PT]
RewriteRule ^directoryname/rss\.xml directoryname/utilities/rss.xml [L,PT]
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} ^/directoryname/
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} !\.(xml|css|js|gif|jpg|jpeg|png|pdf)$ [NC]
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteRule ^directoryname/(.*) directoryname/index.php?COREseourl=/$1 [L,PT]

Nick Hendler

Offline

 

#65 08-21-2012 20:32:10

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19557
Website

Re: Can we have an Update on CCP8 Release please Nick?


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

#66 08-21-2012 20:33:19

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19557
Website

Re: Can we have an Update on CCP8 Release please Nick?

As far as the demo store coming into the site, there are instructions for removing it in the update instructions.  And, we fixed an issue with the installer in v8 when we reprogrammed it that will ensure it never shows up in there again.


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

#67 08-21-2012 20:38:40

bbac
Member
From: Bristol, UK
Registered: 08-25-2008
Posts: 141

Re: Can we have an Update on CCP8 Release please Nick?

webmaster wrote:

Yes, there is.  You guys need to follow instructions, please.  Read this:

https://central.kryptronic.com/public/n … grade.html

Specifically this:

https://central.kryptronic.com/public/n … ANUAL.html

Thanks for the tip - however I have upgraded from v6 (ie performed a new installation) and these instructions are for v7 to v8 upgrade, and do not appear in the v5/6-v8 upgrade notes.

Last edited by bbac (08-21-2012 20:41:57)

Offline

 

#68 08-21-2012 20:39:28

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19557
Website

Re: Can we have an Update on CCP8 Release please Nick?

Sorry.  I'll add those to the v6 instructions.  My bad.


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

#69 08-21-2012 20:41:51

webmaster
Administrator
From: York, PA
Registered: 04-20-2001
Posts: 19557
Website

Re: Can we have an Update on CCP8 Release please Nick?

Done.


Nick Hendler

Offline

 

#70 08-21-2012 20:43:02

bbac
Member
From: Bristol, UK
Registered: 08-25-2008
Posts: 141

Re: Can we have an Update on CCP8 Release please Nick?

Thanks for updating the upgrade instructions. My shop is now up and running, for the first time in four months, with all products, orders and users imported successfully! Cheers!

Last edited by bbac (08-21-2012 20:51:58)

Offline

 

#71 08-21-2012 21:29:24

bbac
Member
From: Bristol, UK
Registered: 08-25-2008
Posts: 141

Re: Can we have an Update on CCP8 Release please Nick?

My site's looking good now but I'm noticing issues with the software and the admin interface. Are you going to start a V8 forum section for such issues?

Offline

 

#72 08-21-2012 21:33:02

v8power
Member
From: California
Registered: 05-12-2004
Posts: 170
Website

Re: Can we have an Update on CCP8 Release please Nick?

webmaster wrote:

v8power: The buttons use a CSS declaration called 'inline-block' for the 'display' node, so it's not possible they're cut off.  I'm not seeing it like that.  I don't think anyone else is either.  I've looked at them in every browser I can get my hands on.

amdowney: Thanks for the comments.  Maybe you'd like to design some skins for us once you get your head around the new system.

Thom: Thanks for checking and for the nice comments.  I think it's a big improvement too.

I had "compatibility view" on with stupid IE9....

Offline

 

#73 08-21-2012 22:43:20

Dave4Showcases
Member
Registered: 03-24-2011
Posts: 12

Re: Can we have an Update on CCP8 Release please Nick?

Not sure if the best place for this, but this thread seems to be getting the attention so here goes:

I did a clean install today of V7 using a devel license and the files found here: central.kryptronic.com/public/installers/installer-clickcartpro7.zip

I have not made any changes to this installation.  I then followed the V8 instructions for upgrading from version 7.1.5.  Smooth sailing until I get to the Post-Upgrade Database Changes.  As soon as I hit submit on the statement "ALTER TABLE core_namespaces DROP COLUMN defaultskin" I am getting this:


Script Execution Error

A component is not available to handle your request. Please try again later or use a different URL to access this program.
File: /core/CORE_App/CORE_App.php Line: 211 Error Number: 256

I reran the V8 installer, got to the same point and got the same error.  Then I deleted everything and redid the entire installation and tried it again (starting from scratch with the V7 files) and am getting the same error.  It is getting late so it is very possible I am overlooking something simple, but any help would be appreciated.

Last edited by Dave4Showcases (08-21-2012 22:44:12)

Offline

 

#74 08-21-2012 22:52:29

v8power
Member
From: California
Registered: 05-12-2004
Posts: 170
Website

Re: Can we have an Update on CCP8 Release please Nick?

Is there a way to make the two columns on the mobile checkout one column so half isn't hanging off the screen?

Offline

 

#75 08-22-2012 05:05:05

ashley
Member
Registered: 08-16-2010
Posts: 41

Re: Can we have an Update on CCP8 Release please Nick?

webmaster wrote:

ashley: I noticed that too.  It's a function of having a large number of configurable options for the products.  If they were grouped together more concisely, users would complain that each listing is too long.  You can always scroll to click submit, or just click enter when in a textbox.

Wouldn't it make sense to just move the buttons?

Either above the list of sections, or position it absolutely in the top right/bottom right corner. Alternatively you could put an extra button next to the minimize/close that saves the current pane's data. As long as it's always visible, it doesn't really matter but forcing users to scroll down to the bottom of the current window each time is a bit of a design flaw.

After installing a fresh V8 there's a minor problem with the default skin - the image at /media/core/kryptronic-cornerlogo.png could not be found. Naturally, it causes a few display issues (horizontal scroll bar as the text is much larger than the image would be).

Last edited by ashley (08-22-2012 06:44:26)

Offline

 

Board footer