Kryptronic Software Support Forum

You are viewing this forum as a guest. Login to an existing account, or create a new account, to reply to topics and to create new topics.

#1 11-17-2009 04:20:13

daviat
Member
Registered: 11-18-2004
Posts: 1096

Can I increase the timeout "time" on a phpini?

I have a php ini file. Where do I increase the timeout value ?  I need to do that for my Google Base Mod since I have many products and they are crashing the site. when I run the Mod. I do not see the appropriate area in this one for editing. It's a Go Daddy server so I don't know if this one is the right one. it was found in the root directory.

register_globals = off
allow_url_fopen = off

expose_php = Off
max_input_time = 60
variables_order = "EGPCS"
extension_dir = ./
upload_tmp_dir = /tmp
precision = 12
SMTP = relay-hosting.secureserver.net
url_rewriter.tags = "a=href,area=href,frame=src,input=src,form=,fieldset="

[Zend]
zend_extension=/usr/local/zo/ZendExtensionManager.so
zend_extension=/usr/local/zo/4_3/ZendOptimizer.so



thanks,
Daniel

Offline

 

#2 11-17-2009 06:59:37

Dave
Member
Registered: 07-05-2003
Posts: 11233

Re: Can I increase the timeout "time" on a phpini?

max_execution_time

Offline

 

#3 11-17-2009 21:47:30

daviat
Member
Registered: 11-18-2004
Posts: 1096

Re: Can I increase the timeout "time" on a phpini?

How do I add that?

If I want it to shoot for 10 minutes is this how I add it below?

max_execution_time = 600

Currently there is no max_execution_time listed. Woundn't that mean that thre was no limitation?

Daniel

Last edited by daviat (11-17-2009 21:49:49)

Offline

 

#4 11-17-2009 22:59:13

Dave
Member
Registered: 07-05-2003
Posts: 11233

Re: Can I increase the timeout "time" on a phpini?

That is the correct format. The default in the absence of the setting in the ini file is 30 seconds. Apache also has a timeout setting which defaults to 300 seconds so setting your PHP value to 600 may not have the desired effect.

Offline

 

#5 11-18-2009 02:34:09

daviat
Member
Registered: 11-18-2004
Posts: 1096

Re: Can I increase the timeout "time" on a phpini?

So basically 300 seconds is your time limit no mater what. You can't exceed that?

Daniel

Offline

 

#6 11-18-2009 06:58:05

Dave
Member
Registered: 07-05-2003
Posts: 11233

Re: Can I increase the timeout "time" on a phpini?

I didn't say that. I said that Apache may have a limit set also. It would be VERY VERY unusual if you needed more than 5 minutes for anything and, if you did, the code probably needs to be worked on.

Offline

 

#7 11-18-2009 18:30:14

daviat
Member
Registered: 11-18-2004
Posts: 1096

Re: Can I increase the timeout "time" on a phpini?

Sorry . . . just inquiring so I can increase the maximum timeout.

thanks,
Daniel

Offline

 

#8 03-16-2010 05:10:26

Enox
Member
Registered: 06-12-2008
Posts: 69

Re: Can I increase the timeout "time" on a phpini?

Hi, quick query. . .
Where can i find the PHP ini file?
I have the UK sales and marketing mod . . . and when i try and generate a sitemap through it i get an internal server error 500. . .
We think the process may be timing out before it has chance to finish. . .

Cheers Enox

Offline

 

#9 05-28-2010 22:33:36

Anthonypi
Member
Registered: 12-10-2008
Posts: 57

Re: Can I increase the timeout "time" on a phpini?

suggestion , max_execution_time has been deprecated in php 5 .. use memory_limit

Offline

 

#10 07-18-2010 22:46:02

vbsaltydog
Member
From: Florida
Registered: 05-02-2005
Posts: 947
Website

Re: Can I increase the timeout "time" on a phpini?

Anthonypi wrote:

suggestion , max_execution_time has been deprecated in php 5 .. use memory_limit

memory_limit is not going to help with timeout issues.

Godaddy is really bad about restricting its customers so they are forced to upgrade to a dedicated server so the may override any max execution setting that you put in your site specific php.ini file but maybe not.

Why dont you try putting the

set_time_limit(0);

at the top of your script that needs to run for a long time?

http://php.net/manual/en/function.set-time-limit.php


Latest CCP 7 XMods Available:


Offline

 

Board footer