Kryptronic Software Support Forum

You are viewing this forum as a guest. Login to an existing account, or create a new account, to reply to topics and to create new topics.

#1 02-27-2009 14:03:11

Sproz
Member
Registered: 02-17-2009
Posts: 55

Banner Advert

I'm trying to place a banner advert to link customers to another site that will pay me an affiliate fee, the banner is in html. How do I do this and how do I put it in the correct place on my site?
Also I want to do a similar thing with google adsense.

Thanks

Offline

 

#2 02-27-2009 14:05:19

dh783
Member
From: Avondale, Arizona
Registered: 04-06-2005
Posts: 6233
Website

Re: Banner Advert

Generally you would place that in the skin.php of the skin in use on the site.

John

Offline

 

#3 02-27-2009 14:17:59

Sproz
Member
Registered: 02-17-2009
Posts: 55

Re: Banner Advert

Thanks John, any particular place within the skin code? I am a novice!!

Offline

 

#4 02-27-2009 14:33:44

dh783
Member
From: Avondale, Arizona
Registered: 04-06-2005
Posts: 6233
Website

Re: Banner Advert

That depends on where your want to put it/them.

John

Offline

 

#5 02-27-2009 14:51:52

Sproz
Member
Registered: 02-17-2009
Posts: 55

Re: Banner Advert

I'm still using pretty much the basic skin (I've yet to play with that bit!!) I will probably have one landscape banner at the top just under "you are currently logged in as" then one down the right hand side in the space under the popular pages menu.

Thanks

Offline

 

#6 02-27-2009 15:04:54

dh783
Member
From: Avondale, Arizona
Registered: 04-06-2005
Posts: 6233
Website

Re: Banner Advert

Under the logged in section you best bet is here

Code:

<div id="skin_headacct">

     <?php /* PHP FUNCTION */
           /* Include the miniacctlogin namespace to print  */
           /* either a quick login info.                    */
           $skinfunc->namespace($app_id,'miniacctlogin'); ?>

</div>

</td>

</tr>
<!-- new section here -->
<tr>

under the right column menu would be here

Code:

</td>

<td id="skin_ct_rcol">

     <?php /* PHP FUNCTION */
           /* Include the frontend menus namespace.  Pass RIGHT    */
           /* as the menu id here.                                 */
           $skinfunc->namespace($app_id,'femenus','RIGHT'); ?>

</td>

</tr>

<!-- new section here -->

John

Offline

 

#7 02-27-2009 15:09:08

Sproz
Member
Registered: 02-17-2009
Posts: 55

Re: Banner Advert

Thanks John, I'll go and play!!

Offline

 

#8 03-03-2009 15:44:13

Sproz
Member
Registered: 02-17-2009
Posts: 55

Re: Banner Advert

John,
I've tried a google adsense banner, I chose the vertical narrow banner and added it where suggested, however its not showing up on the site, any ideas why??
Here's the code I added to the skin;

Code:

<td id="skin_ct_rcol">

     <?php /* PHP FUNCTION */
           /* Include the frontend menus namespace.  Pass RIGHT    */
           /* as the menu id here.                                 */
           $skinfunc->namespace($app_id,'femenus','RIGHT'); ?>

</td>

</tr>
<script type="text/javascript"><!--
google_ad_client = "pub-6020440203113736";
/* 120x240, created 01/03/09 */
google_ad_slot = "4900097504";
google_ad_width = 120;
google_ad_height = 240;
//-->
</script>
<script type="text/javascript"
src="http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/show_ads.js">
</script>

</table>

<div id="skin_footer">

     <?php /* PHP FUNCTION */
           /* Print the application owner's address and phone */
           /* numbers here.

Offline

 

#9 03-03-2009 16:14:52

dh783
Member
From: Avondale, Arizona
Registered: 04-06-2005
Posts: 6233
Website

Re: Banner Advert

Can you give a url to the site?

John

Offline

 

#10 03-03-2009 17:08:09

Sproz
Member
Registered: 02-17-2009
Posts: 55

Re: Banner Advert

No problem, its wwwkitchenfoods.co.uk, the site is still pretty much the 'out of the box' layout
thanks

Offline

 

#11 03-03-2009 17:41:07

dh783
Member
From: Avondale, Arizona
Registered: 04-06-2005
Posts: 6233
Website

Re: Banner Advert

Are you working with a copy of the skin or the original? I don't see any thing that you have said that you put into the skin.php file so I can only think that your working with a copy and have not set that copy as the default skin or your changes are not being saved to the file because of permissions not be correct.

John

Offline

 

#12 03-03-2009 18:36:59

Sproz
Member
Registered: 02-17-2009
Posts: 55

Re: Banner Advert

I had added it to the 'displays>skins>ecommerce skin, however I now realise it should have been in the CCP ecommerce skin, which now i remember is where i added paypal logos and they appear ok so I have added the code there but it still does not display??

Offline

 

#13 03-03-2009 19:51:57

dh783
Member
From: Avondale, Arizona
Registered: 04-06-2005
Posts: 6233
Website

Re: Banner Advert

I have it displaying at the very top of the site left-hand side, you are going to have to place it inside a row and in a new cell to keep  it in the right hand column.

John

Last edited by dh783 (03-03-2009 19:52:50)

Offline

 

#14 03-04-2009 11:51:17

Sproz
Member
Registered: 02-17-2009
Posts: 55

Re: Banner Advert

I couldn't see it at all on the site? anyway for now I've placed it on the footer along with paypal logos etc, this is ok but I need to display another vertical banner either to the left or right of the splash page or in the space under poplular pages as mentioned above.
What code would I need to create the new cell etc as above??
Otherwise how do I get it to display outside of the "page" like the footer does?
Sorry to be a pain!!

Offline

 

#15 03-04-2009 13:24:07

dh783
Member
From: Avondale, Arizona
Registered: 04-06-2005
Posts: 6233
Website

Re: Banner Advert

With you last code posting it should be better like this (I think)

Code:

<td id="skin_ct_rcol">

     <?php /* PHP FUNCTION */
           /* Include the frontend menus namespace.  Pass RIGHT    */
           /* as the menu id here.                                 */
           $skinfunc->namespace($app_id,'femenus','RIGHT'); ?>

<div class="skin_fenav">

<script type="text/javascript"><!--
google_ad_client = "pub-6020440203113736";
/* 120x240, created 01/03/09 */
google_ad_slot = "4900097504";
google_ad_width = 120;
google_ad_height = 240;
//-->
</script>
<script type="text/javascript"
src="http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/show_ads.js">
</script>

</div>

</td>

</tr>

</table>

<div id="skin_footer">

     <?php /* PHP FUNCTION */
           /* Print the application owner's address and phone */
           /* numbers here.

John

Offline

 

#16 03-05-2009 10:10:40

Sproz
Member
Registered: 02-17-2009
Posts: 55

Re: Banner Advert

Thats cracked it John, perfect! Thanks very much.

Any ideas on my other posting regarding my secure server?? the post title is "Help Please!"

Offline

 

Board footer