Kryptronic Software Support Forum

You are viewing this forum as a guest. Login to an existing account, or create a new account, to reply to topics and to create new topics.

#1 02-17-2009 11:54:07

Sproz

htaccess help! please!

Hi, sorry if this has been answered a 1000 times but I'm new to this and have just got my site live on the server and moved it up to the root htdocs folder from a test folder, the site works fine but if I try and implement the htaccess file by switching SEO on in the admin then sticking the htaccess file in the root htdocs folder I just get 'forbidden' or 'server error' when trying to access the site? The code for htaccess I was using is;  Options +FollowSymLinks
RewriteEngine on
RewriteRule ^(.*)-(.*)/(.*)\.html index.php?app=$1&ns=$2&ref=$3 [L,PT]

The website is wwwkitchenfoods.co.uk

Please explain where I'm going wrong, oh and take it easy my brain has fried, it was only last Friday when I hadn't a clue what SQL,PHP etc even was!!!

Thanks!

#2 02-17-2009 12:05:09

Dave

Re: htaccess help! please!

What, exactly, is the error that you got?  There's a big difference between forbidden and server error. Who is your service provider?  Have you verified with your provider that mod-rewrite is enabled and available to you?

#3 02-17-2009 13:02:50

Sproz

Hi Dave,
Forgive my apparent lack of knowledge, I'm on what seems a steep learning curve!
I've just run through trying it again, if I set the SEO to true in the admin without the htaccess file in place I get broken links on the site, then after sticking the htaccess file in the servers htdocs folder I get internal servor error message when loading the site, I tried chmoding the htaccess file even to 777 with no luck, restored everything back to before and its ok again??
On another note, whilst I remember! do I need to change some of the permissions on my files after the install to make it safe?
Thanks

#4 02-17-2009 13:04:59

Sproz