Kryptronic Software Support Forum

You are viewing this forum as a guest. Login to an existing account, or create a new account, to reply to topics and to create new topics.

#1 11-25-2008 17:55:26

stage
Member
Registered: 12-12-2005
Posts: 170

set realtime tracking to UPS online tools instead of WEBAPI

I activated UPS Online Tools, but I can't see how to set tracking to use that instead of WEBAPI.  The link "Click here for realtime tracking information on this item" still contains the string &trackmeth=UPSWEBAPI.

Can't find the place to set the default track method in admin.

BTW, I am using a custom shipping script that calculates a value-based shipping price, in case that matters.

Thanks,
Nathan

Offline

 

#2 11-26-2008 00:02:52

rachaelseven
Member
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 01-23-2006
Posts: 3169
Website

Re: set realtime tracking to UPS online tools instead of WEBAPI

It's going to use whichever is stored in the existing order.  To change the one it uses, you'll need to go into the order and update the product to use Online Tools instead of WEBAPI.  In the future, when you add tracking numbers to completed orders, just select the Online Tools option for each new order.  How it gets the rates doesn't matter (custom script, realtime, etc)... it only matters which method you select when you mark the order shipped and add the tracking number.


Rachael Katz
- Custom Focusing Screens for DSLR Cameras

Offline

 

#3 11-26-2008 08:52:46

stage
Member
Registered: 12-12-2005
Posts: 170

Re: set realtime tracking to UPS online tools instead of WEBAPI

Oh that explains why I couldn't figure it out.  I'm using ATS Batch Process Orders.

So I look in adm_batch.pl and see the line

  $shiptrackmeths{'ups'} = 'UPSWEBAPI';

What do I replace the string UPSWEBAPI with, to change it to UPS Online Tools?

Thanks,
Nathan

Offline

 

#4 11-26-2008 09:21:00

rachaelseven
Member
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 01-23-2006
Posts: 3169
Website

Re: set realtime tracking to UPS online tools instead of WEBAPI

Hi Nathan,

You'd want to change that line to:

Code:

$shiptrackmeths{'ups'} = 'UPSTOOLS';

That will make the change going forward.  Unfortunately, you'll still need to manually update each existing order that already has UPSWEBAPI set or else use phpMyAdmin (if you're in MySQL mode) to execute a SQL statement that will update existing ones all at the same time.  Such a SQL statement would look like:

Code:

UPDATE trackitem
SET trackitem_shiptrackmeth = 'UPSTOOLS'
WHERE trackitem_shiptrackmeth LIKE 'UPSWEBAPI'

That would change all the existing orders in the database in one fell swoop.  Good luck!


Rachael Katz
- Custom Focusing Screens for DSLR Cameras

Offline

 

#5 11-26-2008 10:07:01

stage
Member
Registered: 12-12-2005
Posts: 170

Re: set realtime tracking to UPS online tools instead of WEBAPI

Okay, thanks for your help.

Nathan

Offline

 

#6 01-29-2009 19:45:47

joempdx1
Member
Registered: 11-02-2007
Posts: 13

Re: set realtime tracking to UPS online tools instead of WEBAPI

I have selected ups api and it seems to be calculating old rates. Is this something that has to be updated? I can;'t seem to get ups online tools..seems it needs some special installation beyond my capabilities.

Offline

 

#7 01-29-2009 20:07:54

rachaelseven
Member
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 01-23-2006
Posts: 3169
Website

Re: set realtime tracking to UPS online tools instead of WEBAPI

UPS Web API is deprecated.  UPS Online Tools is now the preferred connection.  It is possible that the older API is not updated by UPS, since they are moving everyone over to Online Tools, but I don't know for sure.  How do you know the rates are 'old'?


Rachael Katz
- Custom Focusing Screens for DSLR Cameras

Offline

 

#8 01-29-2009 20:31:39

stage
Member
Registered: 12-12-2005
Posts: 170

Re: set realtime tracking to UPS online tools instead of WEBAPI

And also, joempdx1, where did you get stuck with UPS Online Tools?  The first step is Shipping Settings >> UPS Online Tools Connection.  Have you done that?

Nathan

Offline

 

#9 02-05-2009 14:40:30

joempdx1
Member
Registered: 11-02-2007
Posts: 13

Re: set realtime tracking to UPS online tools instead of WEBAPI

well when I go to the ups online tools connection it asks to select a country..which I do..united states..then I get an error message:

ERROR: Either you did not complete all the necessary fields required to configure your connection, or the information submitted was invalid. Please try again.

So, it sticks me there...

Offline

 

#10 02-05-2009 14:45:15

rachaelseven
Member
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 01-23-2006
Posts: 3169
Website

Re: set realtime tracking to UPS online tools instead of WEBAPI

In the past, users have reported that this was something to do with the formatting of the serial number on CCP's servers (UPS checks there for vendor information during the setup).  I would suggest email support@krptronic.com.  They are not officially supporting 5.1 any longer, but hopefully they will at least check to see if it is something on their server stopping the setup process.


Rachael Katz
- Custom Focusing Screens for DSLR Cameras

Offline

 

#11 02-05-2009 14:51:04

Dave
Member
Registered: 07-05-2003
Posts: 11233

Re: set realtime tracking to UPS online tools instead of WEBAPI

5.1 doesn't communicate with Kryptronic servers Rachael.

Offline

 

#12 02-05-2009 15:05:41

joempdx1
Member
Registered: 11-02-2007
Posts: 13

Re: set realtime tracking to UPS online tools instead of WEBAPI

Does that mean I am stuck....I didn't want to upgrade because this works great for me and I had enough of a hard time figuring it out, that I didn't want to put a time sink into the new version.

Offline

 

#13 02-05-2009 15:20:19

rachaelseven
Member
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 01-23-2006
Posts: 3169
Website

Re: set realtime tracking to UPS online tools instead of WEBAPI

Actually, there is a communication with the Kryptronic servers during the UPS setup... something about retrieving a key so UPS can establish that cart comes from a vendor approved to use the UPS rating system.  At least that's how it was explained during old posts on the subject... never seen it for myself, of course.


Rachael Katz
- Custom Focusing Screens for DSLR Cameras

Offline

 

#14 02-05-2009 15:29:03

Dave
Member
Registered: 07-05-2003
Posts: 11233

Re: set realtime tracking to UPS online tools instead of WEBAPI

Oh, shows you what I (don't) know about 5.1 sad

Offline

 

Board footer